Raspberry & Pistachio Fudge Brownies

 

So because I’m heading into an ominous pit of uncertainty and anxiety–i.e. college graduation– in a mere week, I’m trying dagum hard to be optimistic about the day-to-day. You know, focus on the good and the hopeful to avoid thoughts of living on the street.

I’m trying, yes. But a handful of painful occurrences  had me close to despising all humanity last week.

I know. Harsh. It’s okay. Calm yourself.

I’m reflecting on these negatives and pulling out the positives. There’s always a silver lining., even if you have to completely make it up… once you do, it exists. And it’s legit.

Alright, first brutal happening of the week: I start having this searing pain in the side of my mouth. I think, oh I must have somehow chomped  my cheek without realizing and maybe it’s infected.

Nope. Wrong. Sort of.

I was actually biting the lining of my cheek… with an emerging wisdom tooth. If you’ve never experienced the adult version of teething, you best praise the sweet heavens above. The agony that accompanies chewing, speaking or existing without heavy doses of Advil and Orajel– man, you don’t want to go there.

On the bright side? Severe oral issues mean all the more reason for yogurt and soup. I love both of those things. Better still, I could still handle soft foods like brownies on one side of my mouth. Victory.

Next hurdle–laryngitis.

I think that maybe I swallowed too much of the Orajel and it somehow caused my voice to disappear for a few days.

On the bright side, when you’re incapable of forming communicable words, you escape any obligation of talking to people you have no desire to talk to.  Easy enough

I know it seems like I’m whining about my oral cavity a lot. And that’s because I am. But this is the last one, I swear.

Visiting the university dental clinic was excruciating. Partially because of the dental irrigation and sawing down of teeth, partially because of the $200 dollars I paid them to tell me what I already know… I need my wisdom teeth out because they’re fudging up my oral situation. Cool.

Yet again, looking towards the bright side… after the initial physical anguish subsided, the irrigating and sawing brought my wisdom pains from about a 9 on down to a 2.5. Go dentist, go.

Okay, last despicable item that tainted both my week and faith in all things good: This girl.

If you haven’t yet experienced the e-mail read round the internet, let’s get to the bright side… Michael Shannon will read it for you. And it’s great.

Geeze. No brownies for you, Rebecca Martinson.

 

 

Raspberry & Pistachio Fudge Brownies

adapted from David Lebovitz

  • 6 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces
  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 6 ounces seedless raspberry preserves
  • 6 ounces pistachio nuts, shelled and roughly chopped

Preheat the oven to 350º. Line a 9 x 9 inch square baking pan with foil and grease; set aside.

Melt chocolate and butter in a microwave safe bowl, stopping to stir every 30 seconds. Continue until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Stir in the sugar and vanilla, then beat  in the eggs one at a time. Add the flour and mix vigorously for a full minute. The batter will be smooth and glossy.

Spread half of the batter into the prepared pan. In a microwave safe dish, heat the raspberry preserves for 30-45 seconds, or until smooth and slightly runny. Spread the preserves over the brownie batter. Top with the remaining brownie batter and spread into an even layer. Top the brownie batter with the chopped pistachios, press down slightly into the batter.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until set. Do not over bake. Remove to a wired rack and allow the brownies to cool completely in the pan before slicing.

Leave a Reply

