Spicy Pickled Carrots

It’s absurd, it’s crazy, but sometimes miraculous change occurs overnight. Like bam.

In my adult(ish) life, but a few foods/flavors made it to my outright despise list. In fact, as of last year, I had it narrowed to three: banana peppers, pickles, anything spicy.

But Lord, look at me now… I say yes, to Sriracha. Cayenne pepper has a home in my spice cabinet. It was as if I woke up one chilly morning craving heat in the pit of my gut.

And so it was.

Now for me, the puke green crimped pickle chips that make it onto your drive through shame sandwiches even after you clearly tell the voice box no pickles please are disgusting. They always will be, no doubt about it. But I’m all over fresh pickles that accompany your shame-free sandwiches at the type of restaurants that make their own pickles in-house.

The awesome part about those pickles is how so ridiculously easy it is to quick-pickle just about any little ol’ vegetable you want right in your own house. Plus, you can make them super spicy. Or not so super spicy. Totally up to you. You’ve got the power. Yeah, you do.

Seriously guys, all that’s going on here is dropping halved baby carrots in a clean jar, boiling down a spicy vinegar solution, pour that on over, and let it all chill. That’s it. No gimmicks.

A simple, sinus clearing, Saturday night stove top project, and you have yourself a jar full of hell fire pickled carrots ready to rock on sandwiches, salads, tacos, and beyond. For real though, grab some lime and cilantro, slice up a handful of these suckers for fish tacos… oh buddy, fiesta time.

Pro-tip: I do highly recommend slice each carrot half into strips when ready to use. I’m not a doctor, but I think popping a whole one in your face could kill you.

I might still be somewhat sensitive to heat. I’m trying, guys.

p.s. banana peppers are growing on me. I literally don’t know of a single food I truly hate. #blessedlife

 

Spicy Pickled Carrots

Adapted from Food & Wine

  • 1 pound baby carrots, halved
  • 4 dill sprigs
  • 1/2 quart distilled white vinegar
  • 1/8 cup kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoons sugar
  • 6 dried Habanero peppers
  • 6 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon whole black peppercorns
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seeds

Arrange the carrots and dill sprigs in one 24-ounce clean mason jar. In a large saucepan, combine the vinegar with 1/2 quart of water and all remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for 10 minutes, stirring to dissolve the salt and sugar. Let the solution stand at room temperature until it is lukewarm. Pour the brine over the carrots, cover and refrigerate overnight for fresh pickles or 3 days for stronger pickles.

Leave a Reply

