Goo Goo Clusters

So, the world didn’t end yesterday. Surprise, ya’ll.

Although I’m grateful that the ancient Mayans have no jurisdiction over the fate of our planet, I was thinking the other night… the world has to sooner or later. Hate to be a downer, but I reckon it does. And when it does, how many things are going to be left unsaid?

I’m incredibly guilty of it… holding stuff in when I’d really be better off to  shareI’ve been lucky to have someone reminding me of that increasingly often here lately. So much so that I remembered Post Secret might actually still exist. And it sure as heck does. I didn’t go posting any secrets, especially the one about the camel toe, but I thought hey, why not get some junk out in the air?

Here we go.

I crave the scent of wet dirt. Often.

Sometimes, I leave more cookie dough in the bowl than necessary. In fact, sometimes I bake cookies just for those raw scraps.

I don’t think couples photo shoots are cute at all. Unless you’re getting married or something, it’s awkward and annoying.

I don’t much care for Girl Scout Cookies, but bless my soul, I could kill an entire package of Fig Newtons by myself. Any day of the week.

I’m a painfully slow reader. I’m going to journalism school… but I honestly don’t read a ton, I find the news depressing, I hate politics and I’m not one of the noble, courageous battlers for justice and guardians of truth that a lot of my peers are training to be. I just want to talk about cake and eat it too.

I keep people out of the kitchen when I cook– A.) because it breaks my concentration  B.) because I’m paranoid about people judging the way I cook.

I would rather walk for 3 hours than run for 20 minutes. Running makes you miss all the scenery.

I’m petrified of getting on with the next 5 months. Countdown to graduation, yo.

I don’t find most children as repulsive as I say I do.

I’m old school. I can’t express my thoughts/feelings/findings through an aesthetically stimulating Tumblr, I scribble stuff in this tiny notebook I carry around.

I’m not as on my game as I was a year ago. I’m trying to get back on it

I’m no good at scrambling eggs or flipping fried eggs.

So many people who I claim to dislike, I truthfully want to hug. I think those people need hugs.

I’m mildly bitter against the people who came to college heavier than me and have lost all this weight now that I’ve gained it.

I don’t really have a recipe for these nutty, chocolate, caramel, marshmallow treats. They’re my boyfriend’s favorite candy thing, so I figured I’d make something like them… but I was lazy about writing down a recipe. And between us, I’ve just been a tad bit lazy with my blogging lately in general.

But I’m going to give you the best darn instructions I can muster. Again, here we go…

Goo Goo Clusters

What you need:

  • foil cupcake liners
  • a bunch of bittersweet chocolate, let’s say 16 oz
  • a bag of large marshmallows
  • 1 (14 oz)  can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • honey roasted peanuts

Place 12 foil liners on a cookie sheet.

Melt a small portion of the chocolate and pour a small portion into the bottom of the 12 cupcake liners; to create a smooth thin bottom layer. Allow to set.

For each cup, take one large marshmallow and smash it (may need to stretch it) with your hand. Press the flattened marshmallow softly into the chocolate layer. Place the cookie sheet into the freezer.

Combine the sweetened condensed milk, brown sugar, butter and salt in a heavy saucepan. Bring to a boil stirring constantly. Turn the heat down and cook for 3 to 5 minutes longer over medium-low heat. Remove the pan and stir in the vanilla. Allow the caramel to cool for about 5 minutes.

Spoon cooled caramel over top of the marshmallows in each foil liner. Sprinkle roasted peanuts over top. Return the clusters to the freezer for 30 minutes.

Take the clusters from the freezer and carefully remove the tin liners. Melt the remaining chocolate and spoon the melted chocolate over top of each cluster to coat. Place in the fridge and allow chocolate to harden.

Leave a Reply

