Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

I don’t know what’s going on. Ya’ll, I’m stuck in a straight up funk.

I can always tell when I’m a smidge off, because my baking suffers. Severely.

Seriously, If I didn’t follow a recipe… this week,  you best believe it bombed hard.

As we’ve discussed, I, like every normal person, have complete dessert flops every now and again. But when something else is off-balance in my… all of my experimental baking fails without hope of redemption. And yet, that somehow does not stop me from attempting to fix it/recycle the fudge up into something else, which makes for even more problems and wasted butter.

There’s nothing I hate more than wasting butter.

Right now, I’m out of butter and I’m all kinds of confused. Maybe it’s transitioning out of this funk or maybe it’s just me falling gradually into insanity, but lately I’ve been battier than Hannah Montana hitting a bong.

Naturally, I’m somewhat concerned. But after seriously thinking about it, I’ve come up with three possible causes for my own loopiness. Miley however, is on her own.

For me, I feel like It’s something to do with the moon, something to do with my sugar consumption or something to do with  my wearing tights underneath all of my pants lately to trap in body heat… which I think is cutting off blood substantial flow to my brain. Warm calves are worth it, I guess.

All the same, if I’m feeling off,  late night baking is often an excellent solution. Especially late night baking with one of the most therapeutic human beings I know, my ex-roommate/best frand/stellar ginger-headed lady, Rachel T. She takes the dry ingredients, I take the wet, we follow the recipe to a T… hoot, holler and yell obscenities in the kitchen until 3:30 a.m.

Then, we eat whoopie pies.  And all is right with the world.

If you too are feeling wonky weird due to the solar cycle or tight pants or whatever your personal beef is… grab a ginger, grab some ginger and get yourself to an oven. Stat.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies 

Adapted from Farm Flavor

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon cloves
  • 2 cups dark brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 cups chilled pumpkin puree
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Filling

  • 2 to 2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger and cloves; set aside.
In a separate bowl, whisk together brown sugar and oil until well combined. Add the chilled pumpkin puree and whisk to combine thoroughly. Add the eggs and vanilla, and whisk until combined. Sprinkle flour mixture over pumpkin mixture; whisk until completely combined.
Using a small ice cream scoop, drop heaping tablespoons of the dough onto the prepared baking sheets, about 1 inch apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until cookies are just starting to crack on top and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cookies cool completely on the pan while you make the filling.
To make the filling, beat butter on medium speed until smooth with no visible lumps, about 3 minutes. Add cream cheese; beat until smooth and combined, about 2 minutes. Add the powdered sugar a little at a time, then add the vanilla and beat until smooth.
To assemble the whoopie pies: Turn half of the cooled cookies upside down. Spoon about a tablespoon of filling onto that half. Place another cookie, flat side down, on top of the filling. Press down slightly so that filling spreads to the edges of the cookie. Repeat until all cookies are used.

One thought on “Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Leave a Reply

