Fudge Almond Graham Bars

I know people say that thing about what is easy isn’t always right… and I know this to be true.

But there are those times when easy is good. Sometimes, all we want/need is no-hassle satisfaction.

Can I get an amen?

In the category of things that are shamefully easy:

These dessert bars.

One bowl, 10 minutes, and you’re ready to rock on with your bad self.

Too easy.

That’s actually exactly what I thought, which is why I was initially hesitant to even mess with this recipe– that, and sweetened condensed milk is #2 on the ingredient list.     Sorry, I have a thing.

Whatever. If it’s good enough for Martha Stewart, it’s good enough for me.

Like I said, sometimes, easy is good.

But other times, difficult is better.

In the category of good things that are difficult

Photography.

I’m taking my first ever photojournalism class, ya’ll.  It’s great, I love it, and it’s difficult.

Not that I’m one of those jokers who thinks that prolific Instagramming makes me a photographer… but there are significantly more terms, concepts, dials, buttons and external factors I have seemingly no control over that go into manually composing a great photo than I ever did realize.

That said, this is very much one of those cases where any frustration swallowed and challenges faced are going to be well worth their while.

I will be good at this, dagummit.

All in all, I’m going to deem this a well-balanced blog post.

I’m satisfying the need for ease, through making these Fudge Almond Graham Bars, as well as a desire for difficulty by investing in a new craft with photographing them.

It’s all about that balance–gotta have your simplicities and complexities in tandem.

On a less obscure note, hopefully we can track some marked improvement in my photography skills in the weeks to come. I have a nifty new camera on loan, and like I said, I will be good at using it.

Hold me to that, please and thank you.

Fudge Almond Graham Bars

Adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 1 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 cups sliced almonds
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 oz semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 2 Tbsp heavy whipping cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line the bottom and sides of an 8-inch square baking pan with foil; coat with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine graham cracker crumbs, sweetened condensed milk, almond extract and salt; stir until moistened. Stir in 1 1/2 cups sliced almonds.
Spread mixture evenly in prepared pan (if mixture is very sticky, pat in with moistened fingers).
Bake until golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Cool completely in pan.
While the bars cool, combine the chocolate and heavy cream in a shallow, microwaveable bowl. Heat on medium low, stirring at 20 second intervals until the chocolate is melted and smooth, and all cream has been evenly incorporated.
Pour the chocolate over the now cooled bars and spread into an even layer. Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup of almond slices over top
Remove from pan; peel off foil, and cut into 16 squares with a serrated knife.
Leave a Reply

