Banana Pudding

So, I have this weird thing with pudding.

And by weird thing, I mean addiction.

Dude, especially banana pudding.   You’re cool with me calling you dude, right?

Cool.    I figured we were at that point in our relationship.

But yeah, next to bread pudding, banana pudding ranks at the peak of puddings I can’t resist. Even knowing that there’s no chance whatsoever of me having the capability to exhibit any self control against it, you best believe I’m hoping to see that pale,creamy, Nilla wafer-crusted beauty at any down-home potluck shindig I ever attend in life.
If there’s not gonna be banana pudding on the dessert table,  save paper, don’t invite me.

Real talk, I legit just love pudding. I mean, everyone has their things… smooth, custardy bliss just happens to be mine.

 Especially for spring/summer. Some people may tell you it’s rhubarb season, others may say it’s deer season… but really, it’s pudding season.

Back in the day, when I was a youngin and summer rolled around, a lot of times me and my mom would get those boxes of JELL-O instant pudding mix. We’d whisk that powder blend of who knows what up with milk, set it to chill while we went and played in the pool with noodles and floaties and junk, then come back in and eat pudding straight from the bowl.
Because we’re classy folks.    Good times. But really.

By the way, backtracking from my childhood nostalgia for 2 seconds…there’s a good chance no one will actually tell you it’s deer season. I completely pulled that out of the air. I don’t know nothing bout no hunting.

But I do know something about pudding. Which brings me to my next point in this declaration of custard love…

Don’t be like me and my mom ten years ago.       That was so ten years ago.

There’s absolutely no comparison to banana pudding made from scratch. And there’s absolutely no reason not to make it from scratch… it’s seriously not hard. In fact, it’s the opposite of hard.    It’s easy. 

Plus it’s not humanly possible to get the same rich and velvety decadence, that comes from cooking cream, egg yolks and thickening agents together, out of a box. You just can’t do it. Sorry.

So yeah… basics of good ol’ classic nanner pudding–  it’s spring/summer perfection,  knowing anything about deer season is completely unnecessary for good pudding, skip the box and if you have an addiction severe as mine, don’t make banana pudding unless you have a reason to share it.
Attacking the casserole dish from in front of an open fridge is not nearly so absurd a temptation as it sound may sound.

Oh, and loving banana pudding is kind of a requirement for us to remain on dude-level friendship. Just so we’re clear.

I don’t care who you are, where you’re from, what you did… as long as you love banana pudding.

Banana Pudding 

Adapted from Moms Who Think

For the pudding:

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
7 cups milk
4 egg yolks, beaten
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 package (12-oz) vanilla wafers
9 ripe medium bananas, peeled & sliced

Combine sugar, flour, and cornstarch in a medium mixing bowl. Mix well, and set aside.

Pour milk into a large saucepan; cook over medium heat until candy thermometer registers 160 degrees F, stirring gently.

Gradually stir one-fourth of hot milk into yolks; stir into reserved dry ingredients, and add to remaining hot milk.

Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and coats the spoon. Remove from heat, and stir in butter and vanilla.

Let cool to room temperature. Line bottom of a 13 x 9 x 2-inch baking dish with one-third of the vanilla wafers.

Arrange half of banana slices over wafers; top with half of cooled custard. Repeat layers, reserving one-third of wafers to crumble and sprinkle over the whipped cream.

Chill thoroughly. Top with whipped cream and reserved wafer crumbles.

For the whipped cream:

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

Whip cream until almost stiff. Add sugar and vanilla; beat until cream holds peaks. Be careful not to over beat.

Leave a Reply

