Traditional Pecan Pralines

As you probably don’t recall, many many moons ago, I made walnut pralines in the microwave.

I covered them in dark chocolate and sprinkled them with sea salt.

It all happened so fast, so easy, and  oh so sweet.

In the end, I was left mildly embarrassed about cooking candy in the microwave. It feels remarkably similar to cheating.

And yet… that didn’t stop me from doing it again like two days later.

And adding bacon.

I’m shameless.

Impressed as I was with this short-cut confectionery back then,  I swore to later do a batch by traditional stovetop, boiling sugar, candy thermomemeter means to see if it’s really any better.

And guess who’s just now getting around to it…

Whatever. You hush.

I got it done.

As it turns out, pralines by traditional means are just as easy.

Stove-topping it only takes a smidge more time and a slightly more attentive eye.
Overall,  no biggie.

It’s the perfect time to blare Miley Cyrus and reorganize your spice shelf.

P.S. would anyone be blatantly offended if I put that in the recipe instructions?

Now, here’s the problem… it was so long ago that I first laid out mission praline, I can’t recall how those first microwave batches sized up to these Traditional Pecan Pralines.

After 7 months, the only thing I remember about those little beauties is… they were good.
I liked them.

Not much of a basis for comparison.

I’d probably be sad about this if I didn’t have a whole mess of fresh pralines to ease the pain.

Okay, I’ve got it. The perfect solution. We could have a praline party…

Yeah. We would all bring a batch of pralines, made by our respective methods, then sit around and test them against each other.

After that, we could make a communal dentist appointment together to deal with the teeth rotting out of our heads.

It could be swell fun.

I’m so in love with this idea. Expect your formal invite by mail immediately.


Traditional Pecan Pralines

From Emeril Lagasse 

  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans

Mix light brown sugar, granulated sugar, heavy cream, butter, water and salt in a heavy-bottomed saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until sugar dissolves. Stir in pecans and cook over medium heat until mixture reaches the soft ball stage, 238 to 240 degrees F on a candy thermometer. If you spoon a drop of boiling syrup into a cup of ice water, it will form a soft ball that flattens easily between your fingers.

Remove pan from heat and stir rapidly until mixture thickens. Drop pralines by the spoonfuls, 1-inch apart onto parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Let cool completely until firm. Store in an airtight container.

One thought on “Traditional Pecan Pralines

Leave a Reply

