Sweet Potato Rounds with Boudin & White Bean “Paté”

I know Valentine’s Day was well over a week ago.

But I can’t help it. I gotta share.

I found me some really wonderful young men yesterday.

But when I say found, I mean sort of encountered. And when I say really wonderful, understand that I mean they really made me wonder…

Like the guy placidly waiting among a frenzied throng of students with a “Free game of Chess” sign and a checkered board set for battle. I wonder what possessed him to spend his afternoon sitting like that at a table adjacent to the student center’s coffee shop, where he’d likely get more bamboozled glances than rounds of chess.

I wonder if this was really a free chess game… was there some ulterior motive afoot?
Did he actually want to take bets? Or deliver an in-your-face PSA? Or make you talk about politics?

Wait.

I wonder if playing chess is some hip young lingo that I’m too old and crusty to pick up on…  is this like a sex thing?  Holy cheeses, was that boy advertising sexual favors right in front of Jittery Joe’s??

How cheap.    And awkward.

I wonder if anyone ever stopped to play a game with him.

Wish I knew how. I so would have. Then, I wouldn’t have to wonder.

Moving on to Mr. Wonderful #2…

The young gent who, as I obnoxiously occupied the entire coffee detailing station trying to get my Splenda to cream ratio right, walks up and says, “Pardon me, miss.”

I wonder why all males don’t say “pardon me” and call me “miss” when I’m all up in the way.
They should.   I’d actually move.

And last, but certainly not least, we can’t forget the dude shuffling through campus rocking an unpleasantly tight Ninja Turtles tee and carrying a briefcase…

In his case, I just have to wonder why?   I mean, did he wake up in the morning and decide to be a walking contradiction or did it simply happen that way?

I’m a fan of individual style, but 90’s cartoon characters and businesslike man bags don’t mesh well for anyone.

 So yeah.  Wanna talk about something that’s legit really wonderful?

Let’s.

We could start with sweet potatoes. Because sliced up sweet potatoes lightly seasoned and roasted tender make any day taste wonderful. What makes those taters even more wondrous is bringing in a  meaty spread of beans and boudin.   Yeah buddy.

Boudin is a distinct variety of sausage character to Cajun cuisine. It’s typically composed of a spiced pork and rice stuffing, usually containing liver and heart, that’s bound in natural casing. And I swear, boudin isn’t quite like any other sausage you’ll ever put in your face.

It’s quite a gem of charcuterie.

Pull your potatoes and faux paté together into pretty little stacks,  plate them next to a green salad, and oh man… what a wonderful world.

Sweet Potato Rounds

  • 1 large sweet potato (or two small), washed and completely dried
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • a pinch of nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • sprinkle of parsley

Preheat oven to 450 F.

slice the potato into 1/2 inch rounds.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the oil, honey, and mustard. Add the potatoes and toss to coat. Mix in the seasonings. Arrange in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes, or until tender, flipping halfway through cooking.

Top each round with a Tablespoon of Boudin White Bean “Paté.”

Boudin White Bean “Paté”

  • 1/2 pound white boudin sausage
  • 1 (15 oz) can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 5 ounces fresh spinach, washed and roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup  + 1 Tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 4 fresh sage leaves
  • 5 ounces fresh spinach, washed and roughly chopped
  • 1 Tbsp bourbon
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
Heat 1 Tbsp of the oil in a wide heavy bottom skillet over medium heat. Remove the sausage from its casing and add to the pan, breaking it up with a wooden spoon. Stir often and cook until the meat begins to lightly brown. Remove to a paper towel lined plate, set aside.
Add the remaining 1/4 cup of oil to the pan. Add the garlic and sage leaves, sautéing until garlic is lightly golden (roughly 1 minute). Add the beans and spinach, season with salt and pepper. Cook for about five minutes. Add in the boudin sausage. Stir in the bourbon. As the mixture becomes dry, add in the chick stock as necessary. Reduce heat slightly and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes longer, allowing flavors to meld. Season again with salt and pepper to taste

Remove from heat and serve atop the Sweet Potato Rounds.

Leave a Reply

