Orange Cinnamon Sugar Cookies with Bourbon Brown Sugar Frosting

Nothing breaks my heart quite like seeing food go into the trashcan.

And if it’s my hand that puts it there… good gracious, that hurts.

If there’s any possible way to save a food item from so wretched a fate, you best believe I will find it.
Or make one up.

Not like they shoved food in my face or anything, but my parents were so not into wasting food when I was growing up.
It must be genetic or something.

I remember this one fateful morn when I was like 4 ish, my mom left me alone at the breakfast table. I don’t know why… she probably had to go drown her head in hairspray or deal with my brother or some other mommish thing.

Anyway, she left me with the rule:   No my Pop-Tart until after I ate a serving of fruit.

So, temporarily lacking any parental guidance, what did devious little Darcy do?

I tossed that banana straight  into the garbage. Not only did I dispose of it, but I buried the poor thing under trash so no one would ever know.

But I knew.

And I guess if my parents read this, now they finally know.

All of you now in the know, rest assured, that wasted nanner haunted me such that I hardly even enjoyed the morning’s Frosted Brown Sugar Pop-Tart.    It haunts me to this day.

So does the fact that my childhood morning meals consisted of sugar with a side of sugar.  But that’s a totally different story.

Now, there’s no way you’d ever catch me throwing out a perfectly good banana.

Not even a mushy black one.

Only place I might throw them is into a bowl with butter, sugar, flour, and eggs. Then, throw that into a hot oven.

Banana bread like whaaaat.

All that aside, these cookies have nothing to do with bananas. But they have everything to do with my disdain for wastefulness.

They turned out real tasty and I love ’em a lot, but these were totally throw-together, use up some junk in my fridge cookies.

Totally delish and a fantastic way to avoid chunking a load of leftover egg yolks, these cookies make for such a win-win situation.

So here’s what we really need take away from all this:

  1. Don’t waste food.
  2. Pop-Tarts are not an appropriate way to start the day. Even when accompanied by a banana.
  3. Cookies are the solution to everything, so make a ton and share them with all your friends. Immediately.

Orange Cinnamon Sugar Cookies with Bourbon Brown Sugar Frosting

For the cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 & 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 8 egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 3 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cream of tarter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp orange extract
  • 1 tsp freshly grated orange zest
  • 1/3 cup additional sugar + 2 tsp ground cinnamon for coating
 Preheat the oven to 350 F.
Cream butter, shortening, and sugar until it is light and fluffy. In a separate bowl, beat the egg yolks and then add the extracts and orange zest. Add the beaten egg yolk mixture to the creamed butter and sugar. Blend well.
  
 In a separate bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, cream of tarter and salt together. Then, add the dry ingredients to the creamed butter and egg mixture.
   
Whisk together the cinnamon and sugar in a shallow dish. Roll the cookie dough into the size of ping-pong balls and roll in the cinnamon sugar to coat.
  Place them on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8 to 10 minutes.
 
 Allow the cookies to cool, then frost.

For the frosting

  • 1/2 C butter
  • 1 C brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 C milk
  • 2 C sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 Tbsp bourbon

In a saucepan, melt butter.

Add the brown sugar.
Bring to a boil, lower heat to medium low, and continue to boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
Add the milk and return to a boil, stirring constantly.
Remove from heat and cool to lukewarm.
Gradually add sifted confectioners’ sugar. (I would highly recommend sifting this confectioners’ sugar. It’s such a pain to sift, but it ensures that the frosting will be extra smooth.)

Beat until thick enough to spread.
Beat in the 2 Tbsp bourbon. Spread over the tops of the cookies. Work quickly, as the frosting will harden quickly. You may have more frosting than you need. (that’s not a terrible problem to have)
One thought on “Orange Cinnamon Sugar Cookies with Bourbon Brown Sugar Frosting

Leave a Reply

