Broccoli & Cauliflower with Balsamic Orange Butter

I have a funny story.

But it’s not really that funny.

And I’m sharing it anyway.

So, we had to do these fake mini interviews in my magazine writing class the other day.
Super fun.
My interviewer was a asking all about my food blog… when it started up, why I do it, where my recipes come from, yadayadayada.

And then, he asks me how I go about actually writing a post.

My response: Um. I just try to take some aspect of my day, and like… relate it to a bowl of broccoli.

Seemed like a totally valid response at the time. Verging on profound even.  But when I read it in his write up later, it just seemed funny.

So I figured I should try to actually do it. Just for kicks and giggles.

 

Alas, I didn’t get far.

The only similarities I could draw between my life and a bowl of broccoli is that both are full of fiber.

Broccoli, just cause.    Me, because I’m a passionate advocate for Fiber One breakfast cereal.

Not to mention, I pretty much set myself up for failure.
We have both broccoli and cauliflower here. And I put it on a plate, not a bowl.
I essentially undermined the entire sentiment of this project.

It’s fine.

Stuff happens.

Maybe I can’t tell you what commonalities I share with veggie bowls. Quite frankly, I don’t think you care.

However, I can tell you that dousing vegetables in lightly citrus-kissed butter is a thoroughly magnificent idea. Bright zest, sweet juice, rich butter, and tangy balsamic for a kick all collaborate to make mundane vegetative matter feel glamorous and make your oven oven smell crazy  good.

Very important cooking lesson there…

Veggies and culinary appliances reeking of high self-esteem make for one happy kitchen.

Broccoli & Cauliflower with Balsamic Orange Butter

  • 2 small broccoli stalks (1 lb), cut into florets
  • 1 small head of cauliflower (2lbs), cut into florets
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted and slightly cooled
  •  1/2 large orange
  • 1/2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • sea salt and fresh-cracked pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 F.

Obtain the juice and zest of the orange half. Whisk this into the melted butter, along with the sugar and vinegar. Toss the broccoli and cauliflower florets in this mixture to coat, then spread evenly on a 9×13 inch baking sheet. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until browned and fork tender. You can stir halfway through for more even cooking. Add additional salt/pepper to taste if necessary.

Leave a Reply

