Peanut Butter Pretzel Sandwich Bites

It’s important to have goals.

Yes yes. Goals are good.

Like em. Love em. Can’t live without em.

But then…

they’re almost overrated.

 

I say almost because goals are legit significant.
Goals are motivation. Motivation is action. Action is better than sitting on the couch watching How I Met Your Mother for 3 hours straight.

I say overrated because 50% of the personal “goals” I set become obsolete within hours of the setting.

That may or may not just be a personal problem.

I’m gonna lean towards the may not.

This isn’t so much of an issue when it comes to the big whopper important goals. I’d like to consider myself relatively diligent on those.

I’m talking short-term goals.

The midget goals I continually re-set… because I continually brush them off.

You know of what I speak.

I know you know.

 As in, For the past three weeks, my goal has been to cease eating like a lardy McDardy and hop on the healthy train.
I ain’t hopping no where. I’m eating a brownie.
I’m not kidding.

For the past 5 days, my daily revived goal has been to cut down the quantity of coffee I ingest in order to break the vicious caffeine addiction that currently runs my life.
Today, I cracked by 2 pm…cracked open the instant coffee. But hey, tomorrow’s another day.

For the 3-day weekend, my goal was to finish writing the umpteen million cover letters I have leftover from a totally unfulfilled holiday break  productivity goal.
I wrote three. Alas, the goal is reborn.

For today, three hours ago, my goal was to have this blog post up two hours ago.
Yet here we sit three hours later.  Boo.

Each and every time I approach the stove to dip some bite-sized entity in molten chocolate, my goal is for the final product to turn out remotely aesthetically pleasing.
After messing up the first two, I tend to stop caring.
I guess there’s always next time.

This is depressing. Shift gears.

From here on out, I’m setting a new goal:

I’m gonna stop bothering to label my mini goals as goals at all, and instead strategically place them within my fatter goals. That way I’ll take down the itty bitties without even realizing…

Yes. Plan. Solid.

I think I’ve finally unlocked the key to being a pro goalie.

Score

Peanut Butter Pretzel Sandwich Bites

Adapted from Two Tiny Kitchens

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp softened butter
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large bag mini pretzels
  • 12 ounces semisweet chocolate
  • 1 Tbsp butter

Combine peanut butter and softened butter in a large bowl with an electric mixer.  Add the sugars and mix to combine.  At this point if the filling will roll easily into balls without sticking to your hands you’re ready to go.  If not, add a little more of each sugar until you reach a consistency that is easy to roll .

Use a teaspoon measure to scoop the filling.  Roll each portion into a small ball, then sandwich them between two whole pretzels.  When all the balls are rolled and successfully sandwiched, stick the whole tray in the freezer for about half an hour.

Carefully heat the chocolate and 1 Tbsp butter over low heat, stirring occasionally until completely melted.  Remove the pretzel sandwiches from the freezer and quickly dip each half-way into the melted chocolate.  Return to the tray and repeat with remaining sandwiches.  When all are dipped, return the tray to the freezer to set up completely.  Store the sandwiches in the refrigerator.


One thought on “Peanut Butter Pretzel Sandwich Bites

Leave a Reply

