Black Bean Brownies

Do you trust me?

Say you trust me.

I need you to trust me.

Cause we’re about to take a walk on the wild side.

These aren’t your typical brownies. Oh no. No madame/sir, they certainly are not.

The title above isn’t some twisted joke. I don’t joke when it comes to chocolate.

These brownies are indeed loaded down with legumes.

Sounds like an awful idea. A dreadful notion. Something only a deranged  soccer mom could conjure.

But bear with me.

I’ve noticed recipes floating around and about  for beanie brownies over the past few months. And understandably so, my general reaction has always been something along the lines of…

Ew.

That is, until curiosity got the best of me. I just had to know… ya know?

No harm a bit of experimentation.

 After all, all life is an experiment.

Or so they say.

I did a little experimenting on my photos with these brownies. Not sure how I’m feeling on it quite yet.
Of course, my photography tactics aren’t all too relevant in this conversation. Apologies.

I can tell you how I’m feeling about frijoles negros in my brownies instead…

 Darn good.

You know I’d never lie to you. Especially not about brownies. Remember,  chocolate is no joking matter.

So  rest assured when I tell you that if I didn’t dump the beans in myself, I’d never guess that someone saturated my brownies with fiber  and protein. After being pureed to a smooth bean blend, all of those little legumes are completely masked by rich fudgey decadence.
p.s. the pasty nature of mashed beans which accompanies that whole fiber and protein saturation concept also allows you to significantly cut down the fat of a regular brownie and totally ditch the flour.
What up low -fat, gluten-free goodies.

It took the experimentation for sure, but at the and of the day… I’m a believer.
Beans and dessert can indeed come together to produce delectable babies. In fact, from henceforth, I may just have to start tossing a handful of beans into all my of my recipes for good measure.

Not really.

But still…

I think we can take away 3 key lessons here:

  1. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it
  2. Foster your curiosity
  3. Never underestimate the power of chocolate. Ever.


Black Bean Brownies

  • One 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed very well
  • 3 large eggs
  • 4 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/2cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp instant coffee granules
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or slightly more)
 Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly oil or coat an 8 x 8-inch baking pan or dish with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.
Place the black beans in the bowl of a food processor and process until smooth and creamy. Scrape the processed beans into a mixing bowl.  Beat in the eggs, melted butter, sugars, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, coffee powder, baking powder, and salt, until smooth.  Stir in the chocolate chips.
 Bake 30 to 35 minutes, or until the edges start to pull away from the sides of the pan and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan before slicing into 2-inch squares.

One thought on “Black Bean Brownies

Leave a Reply

