Curried Pumpkin Soup with Crispy Kale Chips

There are so many reasons I’m in love with this bowl of soup.

Madly.

I am madly in love.

For one thing, soup is pretty much a no-fail feel-good food.

Soup is especially good feeling when it’s full of nutritious goodies, but not-so-full of fatty badness.

That’s my kind of soup.

The kind of soup that floods my diet following expansive periods of heavy engorgement.

The next few weeks are looking super soupy.

Other reasons a bowl of this stuff sets my soul aflame…

This soup is chopped full of scrumptious things I likewise adore.

Like pumpkin melded with earthy sweet carrot, tart apple, and warm spices.

Oh baby.

Is it getting toasty up in here?

 Oh yeah… totally is.

It’s the curry

Curry makes me feel warm and snuggly on the inside.

Love my curry for surey.

And I so love how I can make this soup pretty much any time of the year, since it relies on canned pumpkin puree.

If I want toasty thick pumpkin soup in the middle of summer, that’s my prerogative.

Hello Christmas in July.

I can make this soup anytime, real quick and easy-like.

You know how I do. I get my lovin on the run.

Yeah, we all know how that goes.

Coming back to reality from a holiday break requires you to go at life in a speedy fashion.

Even during the ultra enjoyable parts… like soup time.

It is what it is.

Hurry hurry with some curry.

Back to soup please.

We could even go back to how fantastic flavorful, bodyful, healthful soup is.

Fiber-rich vegetation kicks in to leave you feeling full… but not feeling FULL.

It’s a beautiful thing.

Once heated up and pureed down, the components in this lovable liquid come together to resemble a rich, velvety cream soup.

Minus the heavy cream.

And minus the butter.

i.e. minus the calorie count.

Love at first bite.

 What puts the perfect finishing kicker in a bowl of soup/in my passionate heart for a bowl of soup is the final cherry on top, so to speak.

No cherries here though.

Just kale.

I’m so obsessed with kale right now.

Particularly salty crisp kale leaves that yield virtually no guilt as I pop one after another after another.

After another.

My goodness. So addictive.

Might as well face it, I’m addicted to love

…in a bowl.

Curried Pumpkin Soup with Crispy Kale Chips

  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 3 medium carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1 small tart apple– cored, peeled, and diced
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 & 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
Melt the butter in a large heavy bottom sauce pan over medium heat. Saute the onions and carrots until soft, roughly 5-8 minutes. Add the diced apple and continue cooking for a couple of minutes more. Stir in the spices. Then, stir in the pumpkin puree and applesauce. Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes.
Stir in the milk and add salt/pepper to taste.
Puree the soup in a food processor or blender in batches until smooth.
Top with Crunchy Kale Chips.

Crispy Kale Chips

From FoodNetwork.com

  • 1 small head kale, washed and thoroughly dried
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Sea salt, for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.

Remove the ribs from the kale and cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces. Lay on a baking sheet and toss with the olive oil and salt. Bake until crisp, turning the leaves halfway through, about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

