Spinach Bosc Pear Salad with Feta & Spiced Pecans

You know things are bad when a trip to Walmart seems like big time socializing.

Really.

I spent the past few days in the absolute middle of no where, bumfudge, South Carolina.

You know… just kicking it with my dad, Uncle, and a bunch of dead wildlife tacked to the walls.
They’re all tremendously cool–father, uncle, and even the mounted creatures–but how they manage to enjoy a home base located in the desolate landscape between a small town and a freakishly smaller town, I cannot comprehend.

I’m not trying yo be a hater. I really do appreciate unique tastes in habitation. Even those resembling Little House on the Prairie.

I mean, ya’ll know I’m all about some southern lovin from the oven… and let’s get real, I freaking adore my small town roots, love my deep south accent, and I deeply value southern culture.
For the most part.

While I’ve had a hunch, this rustic venture has confirmed that farm living ain’t the life for me.
In case there’s ever again any doubt, I want to simply highlight a few reasons as to why country life and Darcy do not mix.

1.)  I can’t suffer verbal abuse for my outfit anytime I hit up Piggly Wiggly. Leggings provide me with a glorious alternative to wearing begrudged pants… obviously, shelf-stocking girl with an attitude is not OK with that.

2.) Unless you truly belong to the rural residence and accordingly have farm maintenance to manage, there’s essentially nothing for you to do. Besides name dead animals.

3.) I’m ridiculously jumpy. Loud noises horrify me. Even not loud, but sudden noises horrify me. Thus, I’m not particularly well-off with a gun in my hand.

4.) I only like the smell of mud, not the look of it covering my boots.

5.) I thoroughly enjoy occasionally spending money I don’t have on items such as cute boots. There’s nowhere to accomplish that in such an agrarian setting. The closest Walmart is a 30 minute drive. Go wild, fashionista.

And there we have it.

I can’t begin to express how jubilantly overjoyed I am to be back home in Athens and busy with my own life.

I’m overjoyed to be back in my own kitchen.

And most importantly, I’m ecstatic to be back eating my own dainty chick food. My body has not taken well to the burly man meat & carb diet that I’ve been on as of recently.

Get at me leafy green.

Spinach Bosc Pear Salad with Feta & Spiced Pecans

Making a salad for two

  • roughly 2 cups loosely-packed spinach leaves; washed and dried
  • 1/2 medium cucumber; washed and thinly sliced
  • 1 small Bosc pear; washed, cored, and thinly sliced
  • 1 ounce crumbled feta cheese (or more to taste)
  • 1/3 cup spiced pecans(recipe below)

Toss all ingredients together in a large bowl or between separate bowls and drizzle with your favorite vinaigrette. I went with this simple one.

Spiced Pecans

*Note: this recipe is for a much larger quantity than you need for the salad, either use it as a guide to make a smaller portion or store the additional spiced nuts in an airtight container for additional uses or snacking. Can be refrigerated for up to a week and frozen for longer.

  • 1/2 pound pecan halves
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika

Preheat oven to 350°F. Place pecans in a bowl. Toss with the olive oil, spices, salt, pepper and sugar to coat.

Spread the nuts evenly on a large rimmed baking sheet. Bake, stirring often, until darker brown and fragrant– 15 to 25 minutes. Cool completely.

One thought on “Spinach Bosc Pear Salad with Feta & Spiced Pecans

  1. Well, we say please and we say maam, if you ain’t into that….anyway Miss smarty no-pants, the next time you’re cooking that wonderful food remember where it comes from. Here’s a hint, it ain’t Kroger’s.

Leave a Reply

