Chocolate Boisonberry Tart

2012.

It’s upon us.

Get ready.

 

Time to morph into our outstandingly super selves that compulsively surface for the first week of every year.

You know…

Our super in-shape selves.

Our super financially savvy selves.

Our super non-procrastinating, responsible, taking care of business selves.

Our super kind, tender-hearted, going to church then volunteering at the animal shelter every week selves.

Our super no more smoking, no more drinking, no more shenanigans selves.

Yes, you know those selves.

New year.  New you.

We know the drill.

In theory, I think they’re wonderful.

But in reality, I have issues with New Year’s Resolutions.

And when I say issues, I just mean that I suck at them.

Not so much in sticking to my resolution. More like coming up with a legit resolution to begin with.

We’re just pulling out of the happy holiday crazy station…  how are we supposed to be evaluating our state of general being for an entire year, when were just trying to reclaim some level of relative sanity for the moment?

I mean seriously, I’ve engorged myself on gigantic deliciously fat-laden meals, fudge, cookies, eggnog, and the like for the past month… of course I feel like I need to clean up my diet.

Making holiday magic happen was a sharp slap in the face to my bank account… duh I feel like I need to cut back a smidge in January.

Over holiday break, it’s simply a given that I’ll go home and be totally irresponsible & unproductive with all my old buddies… so yes, I need to get my butt on the ball once it drops in Times Square.

But I feel like all that stuff pertains more to stepping back on track, not to dedicated sentiments for a fresh year.

I guess I can just go ahead and confess… I haven’t had a legit New Year’s resolution in years.

This year is gonna be different though. This year, I’ve pondered on my life over the past year and have come to the conclusion that I pretty much like me.

Sure, I have plenty of areas that need work… and they’re sure gonna receive due attention just so long as I remember my resolution:
Be good to me. Everyday.
Because I like me.
Nah dude,  because I love me.

As selfish and conceited as that sounds, it’s not.

I’ll eat nutritious foods and exercise with enthusiasm, because I love me  I want my body to reach its full potential.

I’ll eat chocolate and cheesecake and bacon when I really want to, because I love me and I deserve guiltless indulgences.

I’ll show patience and understanding towards others regardless of circumstance, because I love me and I want to foster the part of me that holds a capacity to do those sorts of beautiful things.

I’ll face my workload with a smile, because I love me and I love the potential I posses to grow strong through overcoming challenges.

I’ll start piano lessons or go to yoga or whatever I may be drawn to on any given day, because I love what I know of me, but I’m sure there’s still a random hidden talent or passion somewhere in there.

I’ll bake more things in tart pans, because I love me and I love to feel fancy… tart pans make me feel fancy.

I’ll replace time spent worrying with deliberate actions, because I love me and I try not to waste the time of anyone that I love.

I’ll say what I feel even if it’s goofy, because I love me and if I feel something, I should support it.

I’ll dedicate time and sincere effort towards the things I care about regardless of whether those things rob time from other “important” matters, because I love me and what I care about is essential to my development as a person.

And finally, for my slightly more concrete resolution… I will cut diet soda out of my life.

I’ve drunk an entire 2 liter in less than 24 hours. That’s disgusting. I’m going to die.

Everyone please have a safe and Happy New Year’s Celebration.

I wish each and every one of ya the best of the best in 2012. It’s sure to be a delicious year.

Chocolate Boisonberry Tart 

For the crust–

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups crushed vanilla cookies (I used pizzelle)
  • 3/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 large egg

Beat the butter with the cookie crumbs and the confectioners’ sugar at low-speed until creamy. Next, beat in the flour and egg. Flatten the dough into a disc shape between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled, at least 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Press the chilled tart dough into a 10-inch fluted tart pan with a removable bottom. Press the dough into the corners and seal any tears. Trim the overhanging dough, prick the crust all over with a fork, and refrigerate the shell for 30 minutes  more, or until firm.

Lightly cover the inside and edges of the shell with aluminum foil and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven  and allow to cool for 15-20 minutes while you prepare the filling.

For the filling and glaze–

  • 1 (10 ounce) jar of seedless boisonberry preserve
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 10 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp cognac

Heat the heavy cream and milk in a pot over medium-low flame, until it begins to boil. Remove from the heat and add the chopped chocolate; stir until chocolate has melted and mixture is smooth. Add the salt and vanilla, whisk until well incorporated.

Beat the eggs in a small bowl, then beat in a spoon full of the melted chocolate and cream mixture. Add this egg blend to the chocolate mixture, stir until thoroughly combined.

Spoon roughly 8 ounces of the berry preserves into the cooled crust and spread into an even layer. Pour the chocolate filling into the crust. Place the filled tart back in the oven (placing the tart pan onto a baking sheet makes for an easier transfer) and bake until filling is set about 3 inches from edge but center is still wobbly, 20 to 25 minutes.

Cool Completely in pan on a cooling rack.

For the glaze, microwave the remaining boisonberry preserves about 30 seconds or until warm and syrupy. Whisk in the 2 ounces dark chocolate until smooth (microwave with the chocolate and additional 10-20 seconds if necessary). Whisk in the cognac. Pour the glaze in an even layer over the cooled tart.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

