Triple Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

The holidays say oh so many things.

Rather, oh so many things say the holidays…  festive sweaters, fantastically tacky pageants & parades, houses glammed out like supa stars, friendly gatherings ample with friendly eggnog, animalistic behavior overpowering every avenue of  the local mall, peppermint anything, and of course… family.

Yeah dude, there’s no place like home for the holidays.

Apparently.

For whatever various reasons, making the 4 hour voyage southward to my hometown for the holidays consistently instills my soul with monumental dread.

No offense to Valdosta or my fam, but the day before I’m due to leave is like the ultimate eve of doom.

T’was the night before Christmas break and all through my apartment, I pace from room to room venting to anyone/thing around, about how wretched my life is about to be…

I don’t want to pack. I don’t want drive. I don’t want to get there. I don’t want to stay there. Could I please just not?

OMG boo hoo.

I’m such a freaking whiner. Try not to be around when I get a paper cut.

The thing is…

I have no clue what my big freaking deal is.

For the most part, whenever I go home, I have an all out blast.   There’s so much frivolity and joy to be had.

Seeing old faces is nothing but fun. Except when it’s awkward.       Even still, awk can be fun(ny).

My family makes a fat fuss over me being back.
As in other people make special accommodations for me… and what I like… and son of a biscuit, they cook for me.
Other people feed me.    <—– If I could only tell you how much that right there means to me.

Remembering that when I legit lived in this city,  I was somehow lucky enough to best befriend some the straight up coolest people in the history of forever  always involves more laughter than my cookie coated abdominals and more smiles than my holiday cheer chub cheeks can viably handle.
Reunification is such a blessed level of pain.

Going home means I’m on my own turf… I know where I’m going and getting there typically evokes some intense trips down memory lane.
Going home means I get to play… I relax, I stay up late, I eat junk food.
Tis great.

See, I don’t know what I’m talking about. I love visiting home. Going home is the bomb. Yes.

Ok well, besides a few things…

I can’t for the life of me understand what it is, but as soon as I pass county lines bordering my hometown, every ounce of productivity and responsibility drains from my bones.

Before every journey down, I say to myself , “Darcy, dear sweet Darcy, you got junk to do… it can’t happen this time.”
But then it does.

I just get so weird. All I wanna do is play and do dumb stuff and pretend real life work doesn’t exist. Actually accomplishing real life work is darn near impossible.
Am I reverting back to high school me? Is that even possible? I was a good student high school. Promise, I lived on the honor roll.
What the heck does this place do to me?

The irresponsibility factor is the biggie, but then there’s all the little nit-picky elements that kind of make my eye twitch once I come on down…

Like when I say I love visiting family and friends, I mean that, I truly do. But there are so many people. I want to give everyone quality time, everyone expects quality time.   Sometimes it’s hard to scrounge up that much quality time.

Then, there’s having to deal with personal maintenance issues. I.E. the dentist. Dentists are swell and all, until they tell you that they plan to tear teeth from your face.
December 30th people… happy fudging New Years to me.

And of course, having to cope with a city that has like a grand total of 3 decent restaurants can be a struggle. Hopefully brother dearest doesn’t tire of cooking anytime soon.

Thus, I say…  like most places, enjoying Valdosta, Georgia requires  give and take. But hey, it’s home.

Home with peppermint cookies= holiday magic.

Everybody get down.


Triple Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Adapted From bon appétit

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon instant espresso powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 & 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chunks, separated
  • 20 red-and-white-striped hard peppermint candies, finely crushed
Preheat oven to 375°F. Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper.
Whisk flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, espresso powder, and salt in medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until creamy. Add sugar and both extracts; beat until smooth. Add eggs; beat to blend. Add dry ingredients; beat just to blend. Stir in 1 & 1/2 cups of the chocolate chunks. Measure 1 level tablespoonful dough; roll dough between palms to form ball. Place on prepared baking sheet. Repeat with remaining dough, spacing cookies 11/2 inches apart.
Bake cookies until they begin to crack, about 8 to 9 minutes. Cool cookies on baking sheet 5 minutes. Transfer cookies on parchment paper to racks to cool completely.
Carefully melt the remaining 1 cup chocolate chunks with low heat. Lightly dip or spoon a small amount of melted chocolate over each cooled cookie. Immediately sprinkle crushed peppermint candy over each before the chocolate hardens.
One thought on “Triple Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Leave a Reply

