Honey Roasted Peanut Brittle

In my head, peanut brittle is like…   old people chow.

The kind of candy your great uncle is gonna have in a crystal dish next to his cigar box.

It’s like chocolate covered cherries… the over 60 crowd has buku pounds of the junk stockpiled right about now for holiday gifting purposes.

Thankfully,  I really dig peanut brittle.

Keep the cherries to yourself.

Maybe I feel that way because my earliest and essentially only memories of peanut brittle go back to my great grandma’s house.

Ya’ll know my GG… I’ve only mentioned her like 90 times. Especially every time I make pizzelles.

Yeah anyway, I remember GG occasionally having tins of peanut brittle and going nuts over how mouth-rockingly scrumptious it was.

Seriously, she would go absolutely nuts. 

See what I did there?

Nuts.

Funny.

I would always act really super enthusiastic about her nut brittle, cause she loved it so much and all.

Real talk though… I thought it was nasty.

And stupid.

Nasty, stupid, and inappropriately hard.

Come to think of it, I’m slightly astounded her old lady teeth could handle it.

Brittle teeth generally don’t jive well with brittle candy.

Surprisingly enough,  GG also brought chocolate covered cherries to my life.

Those will forever be disgusting. And stupid.

Peanut brittle on the other hand… totes different story.

I thought my relationship with this buttery brittle died in the days of my young foolish youth.

So I was wrong.

Peanut brittle returned to me during the crystallization unit of my food principles lab  this semester.

And you see, the policy in lab is that unless it’s going to kill you or defy your religious principles… you will taste the product.

Thus, peanut brittle managed its way back into my mouth. Dirty beast.

Can’t say that I was disappointed. I just had some maturing to do before being  ready for this relationship, I suppose.

I’ve been craving the sweet crunch since that day.

It’s that love…

True moral of this story:  I’m an old lady.

End.

Honey Roasted Peanut Brittle

  • butter for greasing pans
  • 2 1/2 cups honey roasted peanuts
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 cup light corn syrup or use brown sugar corn syrup
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
Generously butter two 15 x 10-inch jelly roll pans.
Put the butter and vanilla together in a small dish and set aside. Put the baking soda in a small cup or dish and set aside.

In a heavy 3- to 4-quart saucepan over medium-high heat, bring the sugar and water to a boil, stirring with a wooden spoon. Add the corn syrup and cook without stirring to 280°. Add the honey roasted peanuts and continue cooking, stirring, to 300°. Remove from heat and quickly stir in the butter and vanilla. Stir in the baking soda. Immediately pour the mixture into the prepared pans. Spread with a heat-resistant silicone spatula or use forks to pull the mixture to spread in the pan.  Let the brittle cool and break up when thoroughly cooled.
Makes about 1 1/2 pounds.

Leave a Reply

