Pear Ginger Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting & Red Wine Chocolate Glaze

I’m excited. Please let me tell you how excited I am.

Serious changes came upon the interior of our humble abode last week… after months of eating meals at the coffee table, computer desks, counters, couches and other any other plausible eating surface, our little roommate family finally acquired a brand spanking new dinning room table. Look at us. Big time ballers.

It’s sleek. It’s chic. Guys, this table is downright classy.

To properly conclude a dinner affair dedicated towards breaking in our classy new table with a few select classy ladies, I made some cupcakes that, to me, scream classy.

Pretty much.

Except screaming isn’t all that classy. More like, they subtly whisper classy.

Better yet, they say it solely with their invisible cupcake eyes…   now that’s stinking classy.

I’m darn near positive that anytime I’ve ever made a pear-based product, I mention something about how pears posses some inexplicable innate elegance.
They are, no doubt, exquisite dames of fruit.

Shoot, load a dense vanilla cake up with that luscious fruit lady, sweet talk them with brown sugar frosting and drape the whole shebang with a sophisticated, red-wine-sipping chocolate glaze… and bubby, you’re puttin on the ritz.

The cake ritz.

That’s the best kind of ritz. So ritzy.

So you would think that such a place with fine dinning furniture and swanky sweets would play home to some super sophisticated, well-composed young broads…

Would you now?

If so, you would be a thinking wrong. ish.

I mean we try. Sorta.

I’d like to take this opportunity to address an issue that has been heavily brought to my attention here lately.

There seem to be people in my life… friends, acquaintances, family members, randos… who are under the impression that I:

  1. Have my life all together or something.
  2. Do a lot of cool things.        What?
  3. Conduct myself with gracious refinement and sophistication on the regular.        Wait…
False.
Not that I don’t find all of the above generously flattering, I want this to be an open and honest line of communication and sharing. And in order for that to work, you need to understand that I love where I am in life right now… the good, the less good, and the stinky. And I love food, I love making food, I love talking about food, I love sharing food.
But hey, all of that stuff …the life living and foodish stuff… it’s hard. And it gets messy. And so do I.

In the kitchen…

Sometimes, I intentionally leave frosting/dough/batter along the sides of the bowl. Just for me to lick later. Selfishly. No sharing.

Every now and again, I don’t actually measure stuff. I make the best of my eyeballs.

I swing knives at people. But only when I’m really angry or excited. Which is pretty often.

I suck at cooking rice.

Half the time I go in the kitchen, I don’t have a recipe. Half of the other half the time that I do, I end up altering that sucker beyond recognition.

I don’t cook myself legit meals everyday. Let’s get real, I’m in college… I eat cereal for dinner roughly 3 nights a week. Fiber One is where it’s at.

As a blogger…

I’m shamefully tech-tarded.

I use ellipses to the point of abuse…

Some of my fav conversational terms happen to be totally and duh… so I say those a lot.

I completely make up words and butcher existing ones whenever I dagum feel like it, and simply hope that you follow along.

I refuse to adequately photograph non-dessert items.

Beauty & the Feast desperately needs a makeover. I’ve ignored her.     Negligence isn’t very nice.

In real life…

I’m awkward.

Instead of stepping out of buses like an average coordinated Joe, I fall out onto the pavement. I wish I could say it’s only happened once.

I pee with abnormal frequency.

I don’t really know how to do laundry correctly.

I’m not very good at talking on the phone.

Decisions and shoe stores overwhelm me with ferocity.

I rarely sleep enough. Accordingly, I’m not such a ray of sunshine sometimes. People put up with it. Those people are angels.

Now all that said, if for some reason I give off an ora of being more awesome than is true, so be it. That works.

Only explanation I can offer ties to something I learned back in the ballet days which will stick in my side for pretty much ever… do what you do, because it’s what you love to do and how you love to do it. If what it is you’re doing doesn’t look like it’s paying off, work harder. More importantly, work even harder to make it all appear effortless… cause when you love something on that level, work doesn’t feel so much like work to you, so it should never look like work to the world.

The end.

Pear Ginger Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting & Red Wine Chocolate Glaze

Adapted from Fine Cooking
For the cakes

  • 3/4 cup (1 & 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 & 1/2. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup whole milk, at room temperature
  • 1/2 lb ripe Anjou or Bartlett pears (about 1 medium pear), peeled, cored, and cut into 1/2-inch dice
  • 1/2 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
Yields 16-18 cupcakes
Preheat oven to 350 F and line a standard 12 cup muffin tin with paper liners.
Whisk the flour, baking powder, salt and ginger together in a large bowl.
Cream the butter and sugars on medium high until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating for 30 seconds after each addition.
Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in three increments, alternating with the milk in two increments, starting and ending with the flour. Beat on low speed between each addition until just incorporated. The batter will be thick and fluffy. Stir in the pears and vanilla.
Divide the batter evenly between the muffin tins, filling each 3/4 of the way full (you will need to do two batches if only using one muffin pan). Bake 20 to 30 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes in the pan then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
For the brown sugar frosting
  • 1/2 C butter
  • 1 C brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 C milk
  • 2 C sifted confectioners’ sugar

In a saucepan, melt butter.
Add the brown sugar.
Bring to a boil, lower heat to medium low, and continue to boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
Add the milk and return to a boil, stirring constantly.
Remove from heat and cool to lukewarm.
Gradually add sifted confectioners’ sugar. (I would highly recommend sifting this confectioners’ sugar. It’s such a pain to sift, but it ensures that the frosting will be extra smooth.)

Beat until thick enough to spread. If too thick, add a little hot water. Spread over the Pear Ginger Cupcakes.
For the Red Wine Chocolate Glaze
  • 12 ounces dark chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2.5 ounces sweet red wine
Melt the chocolate and butter over medium-low heat. Stirring often. Remove from heat.
Slowly stir in the red wine.
Allow to set and thicken for 5-10 minutes (in fridge). Spoon over the frosted cupcakes.
2 thoughts on “Pear Ginger Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting & Red Wine Chocolate Glaze

Leave a Reply

