Pumpkin Pie Fudge

Man, I seriously love this time of year.

Crisp air, trees aflame with flamboyant shades of red, orange and gold, spooky children’s movies all up on ABC Family.

It’s swell. So great.

But as much as I do so adore the uniquely festive spirit that comes with October, I seem to fall short in some of the month’s expected traditions….

As in, if you come over to my place, your way will not be guided by orange twinkly lights.

There won’t be a giddy witch cut-out peeking out from the window pane.

 

No jack-o-lanterns either.

Haven’t visited the pumpkin patch to pick up my carving pumpkin.

Haven’t even touched a carving pumpkin.

Hear me now…       I will not carve a pumpkin.

I hacked one up last year. That was enough. 

 

I’ve yet to choose between an overtly promiscuous witch, vixen vampire, naughty nurse or sexy kitten costume for Halloween.

Probably won’t.

Ladies (and gentlemen too, I guess), If you’re aiming to be a slut of Halloween, try to at least be original.

Be a slut with character.

p.s. I bought a bright purple Marie Antoinette wig yesterday… couldn’t resist. Ideas?

Haven’t watched Disney’s Hocus Pocus 6 times this year.

Or once.

Or ever in my life.

I have this bizarre totally unjustified disdain for Sarah Jessica Parker.

Don’t ask.

 

 

But worst of all… I’ve yet to create anything pumpkiny.

No warm smells of seasonally sweet brown sugar, cinnamon and roasting gourd innards have filled my home.

No irresistible pumpkin pleasures have come forth from my kitchen.

Not until now, that is.

Finally, I’ve bounded onto the jolly bandwagon in this year’s great pumpkin parade.

It’s a fantastic place to be. I assure you.

Another holiday fad I’m not all over is spending like 6 hours decorating cupcakes to look like gouls, goblins, ghost, graveyards or any of the like.

Cute as it may be, I just don’t really have the time to dedicate to that level of artistry. Personally, I prefer to capture autumnal character in other forms… like fudge candy injected with pumpkin panache.

Pumpkin= Halloween.     Candy= SO Halloween.    Spider web frosted cupcake= uh okay.
Skanky nun costumes= disturbing

I think we’re good here.

Pumpkin Pie Fudge

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup melted butter
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 tablespoons corn syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 (12-ounce) package white chocolate morsels
  • 1 (7-ounce) jar marshmallow crème
  • 1 cup chopped pecans, toasted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Line a 9×13 inch pan with aluminum foil and grease. Set aside.
Stir together first 9  ingredients in a 3 1/2-quart saucepan over medium-high heat, and cook, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil. Cook, stirring constantly, until a candy thermometer registers 234° (soft-ball stage) or for about 12 minutes.
Remove pan from heat; stir in remaining ingredients until well blended.
Pour directly into a greased aluminum foil-lined 9×13 inch pan. Let stand 2 hours or until completely cool; cut fudge into squares.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Fudge

  1. Pingback: Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

