Ghirardelli Mocha Truffles

Besides being an eating enthusiast, I’m sort of a dweeb.

No. I am def a dweeb.

Which is why I’m not about to throw myself off a cliff because school starts back tomorrow.

I like to read stuff and clean stuff and know stuff.

Did you know that chocolate truffles were originally named for the French truffle mushrooms?

They so were.

See today, truffles mean the pristine chocolate spheres sinfully rolling out the Godiva factory and into my face.  But the imperfectly formed chocolate ganache lumps apparently resembled  this truffle forest fungus back in the day.

In the spirit of the beauty to be taken from life’s little imperfections, I kept my truffles uneven and fungus-looking.

Or maybe I just rolled them too soon.

Whatever.

Really though, as I look across my apartment through our totally empty dinning room and past the French doors into my shottily painted bleck blue bedroom… I can’t help but think, there’s absolutely no where I’d rather be right now.

Being back in this fabulously spirited city I call home, with my freakishly awesome roommates and pals, and about to head into some invigorating new scholastics and adventures…

What more could I possibly want?              Seriously.

So we have to eat on the floor, and my room looks like a moody sky barfed on the walls/trim/ceiling, and my landlord has no desire to alleviate the situation or the ants residing in out kitchen…

But, who really cares?

That’s a sentiment I aim to keep throughout this semester.

Even if stuff doesn’t necessarily appear perfect to begin with, at the core… it may very well turn out to be indulgently decadent and blissful.

You just have to be willing to give it a taste.

Fear not.

Live large.

Eat chocolate.

Like now.

Ghirardelli Mocha Truffles

Adapted from Ghirardelli

  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 16 ounces Ghirardelli chocolate
  • 1 Tbsp instant coffee
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • Powdered sugar for rolling

n a small saucepan, bring the cream to a simmer. Remove from the heat and stir in the chocolate, coffee granules and butter. In a medium-sized skillet, bring 1/2 inch of water to a slow simmer. Set the saucepan in the skillet over low heat. Stir mixture just until chocolate has completely melted. Remove from heat. Pour the chocolate mixture into a shallow bowl. Cool, cover and refrigerate until firm, at least 2 hours.

Pour the powdered sugar into a shallow dish. Line an airtight container with waxed paper. Dip a small spoon into a glass of warm water and quickly scrape across the surface of the chilled truffle mixture to form a rough 1-inch ball. Drop the ball into the sugar. Repeat with the remaining truffle mixture. Gently shake the dish to coat truffles evenly. Transfer truffles to the prepared container, separating layers with additional waxed paper. Cover tightly and refrigerate up to 2 weeks, or freeze up to 3 months.

3 thoughts on “Ghirardelli Mocha Truffles

  1. Pingback: Red Wine Chocolate Truffles « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

