Peachy Blueberry & White Chocolate Bread Pudding with Blueberry Caramel Sauce

So, I’ve been thinking…

Thinking about why I pay for internet service every month that generally does not connect me to the internet.           I hate you Charter Communications.

And what I could have possibly done to my back that put it in such complete agony.                                Sorry back.

And how bread pudding can be so innately good, yet so maliciously evil on my thighs.                          Stupid thighs.

I’ve also been thinking about how these thinkings sound like oldie moldie thoughts.                                 Um.

A bizarre realization smacked me in the face the other day…    I only have 10 years until 30.

Thirty is like that age where the world officially dismisses you as old.

At 30, people expect you to act as a real functioning member of society and stop saying things like “duh,” and “totally,” and “like.”

Besides replacing fundamental elements of my vocabulary, I’ve always kinda had a lot of things I wanted to see happen before hitting  the big 3 0.  Now, I only have ten years to take care of all that junk.

As you may or may not  have noticed, I’m a list type of person.

Things actually happen when I write things down as a bulleted list and have the satisfaction of checking them off.

So I figured if I made a list of things that should happen before the third decade of my life, they’re slightly more likely to go down.

I almost titled it my “Thirty before 30” list… but that would be super cliché and annoying.

Plus, I didn’t think of thirty things.

1.) Travel/eat my way through Europe.

2.) Specifically, go connect with some family roots in Italy for a bit.

3.) Prepare the turkey for Thanksgiving dinner. Which means I’d be hosting Thanksgiving dinner… so yeah, that too

4.) Attend the Kentucky Derby. Big hat, mint juleps, the whole shebang.

5.) Own real things… like a house and a car.

6.) Ride an elephant.

7.) Have some form of major publication… a book would be nice.

8.) Find myself comfortably established in my career.

9.) Go camping. For real.

10.) Interview at least 5 truly monumental individuals.

11.) Fall so hard in love that it hurts.

12.) Make my way to the west coast, as well as up the east coast.

Not the most elaborate list of all lists; but whatevs, it’ll do for today.

I’d just hate to end up as the person who skips out on a major personal ambition or miss something unexpectedly great out of fear, confusion, rationality or whatever.

No one wants to be that guy.

Thought for the day: no matter how old you are, muse on how you might knock an item or two off your own life to-do list. Then do that.

And eat bread pudding while you muse. Cause it’s good for your soul… which is more important than your thighs. DUH.

Peachy Blueberry & White Chocolate Bread Pudding with Blueberry Caramel Sauce

  • 4 tbsp butter, separated
  • 6-7 cups stale French bread, cut into cubes
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 4 tbsp blueberry preserves or jam
  • 1 lb ripe peaches– washed, pitted, peeled and diced
  • 1 pint blueberries– washed, picked through
  • 1 & 1/4  cup granulated sugar, separated
  • 5 lightly beaten eggs
  • 6 ounces white chocolate, chopped

Topping

  • 4 tbsp butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar

Sauce

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/4 cup blueberry preserves or jam
  • 2 tbsp rum

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan with 1 Tbsp of the butter.

Place the bread cubes in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the cream and blueberry preserves. Pour over the bread and gentle mix to coat. Cover and set aside.

Melt 1 Tbsp butter  and pour into a large mixing bowl. Add the fruit and 1/2 cup granulate sugar. Toss to combine.

In a separate bowl, Melt the remaining 2 tbsp butter and allow to cool. Whisk in the remaining 3/4 cup sugar and  the eggs. Combine this mixture with the bread and fruit. ( I find it easiest to simply combine all of the elements in the baking pan). Fold in the white chocolate.

In a mixing bowl mix and crumble together 3/4 cup brown and softened butter. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over top of the bread pudding. Bake on center rack 35-45 minutes, or until set.

Allow to cool on  a wire rack.

In the meantime, mix together the brown sugar, butter, heavy cream and blueberry preserves in a saucepan over medium heat until sugar is melted. Bring to a light boil and allow to continue boiling for roughly 3 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool for a few minutes. Stir in the rum. Serve over the bread pudding.

**Note: any leftover sauce should be refrigerated and reheated when ready to use. Use within 2 weeks.

One thought on “Peachy Blueberry & White Chocolate Bread Pudding with Blueberry Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

