Open-Faced Egg & Avocado Sandwich

Oh hey there beautiful.

It’s been a while.

I missed ya.

I wish you could see the ridiculous box landscape currently spanning through my apartment.

And the mounds of wrinkled clothes overtaking my new bedroom floor.

If only you could feel the sharp pain tormenting my pathetic lower back muscles.

And the emotional sting of not having a single pair of jeans that will make it over my arse.

I want you to smell the reek of sweat and Lysol exuding from my nappy hair.

Okay, maybe not.

I really should bathe.

But if you could experience these mildly unpleasant issues, you might just understand why I’ve utterly ignored you for the past week.

And why so much of my life presently  looks as messy as cutting into a loaf of Cuban bread.

More than anything though, I’d love for you to take hold of the overwhelming fiery joy that I got going on right now.

Forreal, come sit here next to my pudgy smelly self amongst cascades of chaotic clutter and smile with me.

Even better, let’s go out and smile and fist pump. I’ll even take a shower first.

Cause guess what…

I am finally home.

I’ve spent the past week since leaving Tampa making a tour de friends in south Georgia.

Finally kicked it with my family a bit, saw plenty of my all-time favorite faces, and continued to eat… too much.

Truly, there’s  nothing quite like blowing off real work, responsibility and grown up junk to run around with people you lurve the mostest

Totally revitalizing.

Definitely needed.

Perfect transition.

And now, I couldn’t be happier to be reunited with my loverly classic city.

I really do love this place. It’d be nice to just take a few weeks to soak up the splendor within.

But sorry Darcy… not happening. It’s time to get back  on it.

Back to physical labor, unpacking, redecorating, going to the gym, academia,  living sensibly and cleaning other peoples’ potties.

Better yet…

back to some seriously stellar people and yet another fresh new beginning.

Yum.

Open-Faced Egg & Avocado Sandwich

for 4 sandwiches

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 split lengths of crusty bread ( I used Cuban), about 5 or 6 inches long
  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • 4 slices thick-cut bacon, fried crisp, drained and crumbled
  • 1/2 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • a small handful of fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 large beefsteak tomato, sliced
  • roasted red peppers (either from the jar or a single red pepper roasted at home, see here to find out how)
  • sea salt and black pepper to taste

Toast each slice of bread, either in a skillet with olive oil over medium heat or whatever method you prefer. Set aside.

Scrape the avocado from its peel into a bowl. Mash it using the back of a fork until generally smooth.  **If you like a more even puree, feel free to use a food processor.

Mix in the lime juice, cilantro and crumbled bacon.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Saute the garlic until lightly browned and fragrant. Add this to the avocado spread.

Add more oil if necessary, then crack the eggs into the pan and fry to your personal preference. Add salt and pepper to taste.

In the meantime, spread the avocado mixture over the toasted bread and top with tomato and roasted red pepper slices. Finally, top with the fried egg.

2 thoughts on “Open-Faced Egg & Avocado Sandwich

Leave a Reply

