Maple Apple Quick Bread

Not too sure as to how this happened, but somehow we’re a hefty halfway  through summer.

Summer break… not season. For some odd reason, those two don’t correlate.

But yeah, It feels like years ago that I was in my lovely little kitchen up in the ATH, just baking bread and junk.

On that note, I just have to say…

Dear Athens,

I miss you.

I miss your fun-loving spirit, I miss your eclectic hodgepodge of residents, I miss your beautiful sense of community, I miss your luscious landscapes, I miss your downtown frivolity,  I miss your invigorating UGA pride, and I really miss that little place ya got on Milledge that I call home.

No worries though, we’ll reunite soon enough and it’ll be glorious. Well hug, kiss, drink cheap wine and shmooze. It’ll be as though we never parted. Can’t wait.

XOXO

Love, Darcy

Of course, kicking it in Florida for nearly a month now has been fine and dandy. There’s plenty to love about the place…

  1. I’m tanner than I’ve been in months… which sadly, isn’t saying much.
  2. There are loads of really cool places to stuff my face. Particularly, places to stuff my face with fresh seafood.
  3. Tampa has a seriously ballin mall.
  4. Walking around in nothing but a bathing suite isn’t necessarily peculiar, depending on where you are.
  5. My supa fly boss lives here. I learn a lot when we run around together.
  6. There are  places that have no issues with serving me a margarita at 11 am.
  7. Beaches. Duh

That being said, Ive come to the realization that I could never live here permanently. Mainly because…

  1. There is an unreal sub-population of lizards.
  2. People drive as though it’s their ultimate life ambition to arrive at their given destination before you arrive at yours.
  3. There are way to many bleach blond ladies in their 80s who are tanner and in better shape than me.  They wear bikinis. It’s aesthetically disturbing.
  4. I don’t care where you are, you’re gonna  drive at least 20 minutes to get anywhere  else.
  5. I’ve yet to find a dude that looks semi-clean and doesn’t wear saggy board shorts to his calves. Like, I keep waiting for one of them to yell “Rocket Power!” and burst into action.
  6. People give me funny looks whenever I let a “yall” creep into conversation.
  7. Mosquitoes… of a most beastly nature.

So…

Regardless of where you may find yourself in life, one thing you can always rely on is a solid quick bread.

Simple, tasty, speedy, comforting and virtually impossible to screw up, a loaf of quick bread is your baking  BFF.     Especially at breakfast time when hot coffee and soft butter get involved.

And when you load it with cinnamon, maple syrup and apples, it makes your kitchen smell like happy.

Now really, who doesn’t want that?

Maple Apple Quick Bread

Adapted from Taste of Home

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour (substitute up to half whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 small gala apples— washed, peeled, cored and diced

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan with cooking spray. In a large bowl, combine sugar, maple syrup, applesauce, oil, eggs,  milk and vanilla with electric beaters until well combined. In a second bowl, combine all dry ingredients and then add to wet mixture; mix well. Fold in apple chunks. Spread batter into prepared pan and bake for approx 60 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes on wire rack, loosen sides with knife and remove from pan. Cool and slice.

One thought on “Maple Apple Quick Bread

Leave a Reply

