Summer Strawberry Lemonade…only better

Happy first day of summer, kids.

Even though you’ve probably already been sunning, and pooling, and beaching, and chilling, and summer book-learning… or whatever summery thing you do for like a month now, today is the official start of the season.

Kinda weirdish.

Nothing says summer quite like fresh strawberries.

And fresh lemons. And hand-squeezing fresh lemons to extract fresh lemon juices and cause your entire kitchen to smell of a fresh lemon explosion.

And busting out the blender for fruity boozy concoctions.    Seriously, it’s just not summer until you have booze running in a blender. It’s not.

And like O-M-G woah, lookee there. We have all of that summery goodness going on up in hur.

What whaaaat.

Twas a very exciting day when our apartment acquired a blender through dear roommate Rachel’s brother’s getting hitched and moving onto bigger and better blending devices. We’ve since entered a mixed-drink euphoria; and thus, commenced in plotting out themed family dinner nights with accompanying charismatic cocktails for the upcoming year.   My personal favorite to-date… 50’s family night– menu consisting of: meatloaf, mashed taters and mature milkshakes. If I have my way, a rousing round of Pictionary will follow.

While we’re on the subject, I should mention that this is totes Rachel’s recipe. She’s our in-house barmaid . Which is only logical being that she’s the sole German amongst us.

If only she were here, blender in arm… oh the possibilities.

Likewise, she totally did all that hand-squeezing lemon stuff. See I would have helped, but I had this real nasty cut on my finger at the time… and it just seemed like a bad idea.

Ya know.

And since we’re talking about sweet ways to drink your calories, please let me share my nasty little shocker of a discovery from last night.

Ok so, it’s 11 pm and I’m all like hungry and needing a late-night snackee. I go for some Special K Chocolatey Delight and as I’m whipping out the milk I happen to glance towards the lower half of the nutrition label. Low and behold, I see 12 g of sugar.

Woah now, what? Double take… 12 GRAMS OF SUGAR.

In my milk? Oh hey bamboozlement… Is this common knowledge or something?

Not like I’m gonna cut the beloved dairy beverage from my life, I simply find it odd that a serving of milk has more sugar than a serving of my fake chocolate cereal.

That’s stupid.

And I guess this has nothing to do with summer or blenders or anything else we were talking about a few minutes ago. Just needed to share.

All the same, cheers to summer.

Summer Strawberry Lemonade

  • 1 pint fresh strawberries, washed,  hulled and halved
  • 1 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • 6 ounces strawberry vodka (or to taste)

Place halved strawberries in a blender and pulse to a smooth puree. Blend in the lemon juice, sugar, water and vodka.

Serve in classes with ice.

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Strawberry Lemonade…only better

  1. In milk, it’s not as though they added sugar or anything. Lactose is simply a kind of sugar (a disaccharide made of glucose and galactose). Infants, human or cow, wouldn’t drink the stuff if it didn’t taste sweet, not to mention the fact that they need the high-calorie sugars to survive. Now, obviously as adults with fancy teeth we don’t need to rely on milk for our calorie intake, but that doesn’t make it any less delicious!

Leave a Reply

