Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins with Peanut Butter Streusel

I should be working on something else right now.

But I ain’t.

These here muffins and I… we’re rebels.

The muffins,  mainly because muffins are typically considered breakfast chow . Breakfast is the most important meal of the day…which implies that it should be healthy.

But these particular banana muffins are stoked on mini chocolate chips and topped with a peanut butter-brown sugar streusel.

Try that one on for a wholesome and nutritious way to start the day.

As for myself, well I’m obvi just a rebel without  a cause. I’ve never had qualms eating dessert for breakfast.  I like to live on the edge.

And speaking of living on the edge, I don’t think I ever made it around to officially saying that I am indeed currently living on the edge                 …of Florida.

Yes sir/ma’am, I’ve been an enthusiastic resident of St. Petersburg for roughly a week and a half now.

I ventured down here to have a more hands-on, intrinsic experience with my internship. Which has thus far been totes thrilling and delicious and junk. It’s going to be a highly enriching summer.

Annnnnnd that’s about all I can say on the matter for now.

Secrets. Shhhh. Sorry, no fun, I know.

But as cool as living in coastal beachy-keen paradise is, it’s taking some adjusting.           Fa sho.

Even though I’m a relatively independent person and all, I miss having roommates and I miss my buds.

I also miss wireless internet, I miss sleeping on my own stain-free pillow, I miss having twiggy legs, I miss having a fridge full of not to-go boxes… and most of all, I miss baking.

Supposing I actually had time and equipment to accommodate my oven urges, I no longer have people to shove baked goods on.

Not that I’d have brownies going to by the wayside, but uh like I said… I likewise miss having twiggy legs.

Muffins such as these, and items of a similar nature, are best shared with one’s rocking friends and neighbors.

However, for all I know, my neighbors here could be axe murderers or collect Pokemon cards or something equally disturbing.

I can’t be feeding psychos. What if they start hanging around my door like stray cats?

I hate cats.

And psychos.

   

Pardon my using a second transitional “and speaking of…”

But speaking of cats, I guess I kinda let this one out of the bag.

I obviously didn’t bake these suckers yesterday or the day before or even last week.

I planned ahead for fulfilling your sugary desires and am working off a small stockpile of recipes I built up before leaving Athens.

Once that runs out, we’ll start doing things like baking loner microwave mug cakes.

Psh. As if.

So even though I’m just a smidge limited on my creative kitchen expression capabilities as of now, the next couple of months are gonna give me the opportunity to focus more on evaluating the finer points of others’ cookery and further develop my voice as a writer and basically grow as a young foodish individual.

That’s the plan as of now.

And I’m super stoked to share with you along this two month journey.

Now  that that’s settled, you can go slap on some fake tats and whip up muffins for a rebellious breakfast  and I’ll probably attack some peanut butter with a spoon.

Cause I like it like that.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins with Peanut Butter Streusel

  • 1 & 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 3-4 large ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350F and line a standard muffin pan with liners.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Set aside

In a separate bowl combine the mashed bananas, butter, eggs and vanilla. Fold the dry ingredients into the banana mixture. Stir in chocolate chips. Scoop the batter into the prepared pan, filling each cup about 3/4 full. Top each with peanut butter streusel (below) and bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and test done.

Remove from oven and allow to cool in pan on a wire rack for about five minutes, then remove the muffins from pan.

For the Peanut Butter Streusel

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp peanut butter

Stir together flour and sugar. Cut in butter and peanut butter with a fork.

One thought on “Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins with Peanut Butter Streusel

Leave a Reply

