Balsamic Roasted Vegetables

When the heck did veggies pick up such a pathetic rep on the dinner table?

It’s like, they’re probably our closest edible link to nature; and yet, there exists an unceasing battle to shove them down some peoples’ throats.

You might typically associate the pain of convincing someone to eat their little broccoli trees with wee ones, but I’m truly astounded by how many adults that I know personally who won’t even touch fresh vegetation.

In fact, one of my nearest and dearest friends truly enjoys but one  “vegetable”                               …canned Lima beans.

Seriously, what do you even say when someone tells you that?

Makes me think that a lot of people simply never had exposure to the gastronomic glory found within fresh veggies.

I guess if you transition directly from Gerber strained peas to heavily salted junk in a can, the idea of vegetables probably is rather unappealing… and something bright and crisp appearing on your plate could very easily be quite unsettling.

Shoot, my childhood was filled with soggy canned stuff. I remember being totally grossed out upon first tasting freshly steamed green beans. They were crisp and weird, so I traded them for my brother’s helping of cheesy potato casserole. Sweet little sister that I was.

Hoorah for coming a long way in life.

As much as I heartily adore sugar, dairy and carbs… I really miss my veggies.

Being that I’ve been traveling  quite a bit here recently and living like a hobo out of my car, I subsequently have not been eating quite as nutritious as I’d typically favor.

And I can truly feel the adverse effect of having replaced fresh vegetables with other various food groups in my life… especially when attempting to zip my pants.

It’s just so not happening right now.

But holy holy hallelujah, I’m finally settling down in a permanent location for the next 2 months and can hopefully shift back to slightly more veggieful diet here soon.

And seriously, do ya girl a favor and try implementing a more vegetable-laden  meal plan into your own eating routine.

That is, if you don’t already.

Sorry, not assuming that I’m the only person who gets down with carrots.

Just remember, vegetation does not = boring.

Dress them up for goodness sake. Make those perdy little gems your own.

Ya gotta become one with your veggies if you want them as a significant component of your eating life.

And you do. I promise. Check out that new plate thingy. Vegetables should take up the largest area on your plate.

Please pardon my being a P.S.A. right now.

My personal preference is roasting vegetables.

70% of my home-prepared veggies are tossed with a bit of olive oil and roasted to crisp, flavorful beauty.

Enticing, yes?

This is truly delectable roasted vegetable blend.

The combination of balsamic vinegar, olive oil, Dijon mustard and herbs packs a flavor punch like you wouldn’t believe.

Roomie and I tossed these babies up with some orzo pasta one night for one completely satisfying,  mouth-rocking dinner

Yeahhh honey, now go get your veg on.

Do it.

Balsamic Roasted Vegetables

Adapted from Bon Appétit

  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh basil
  • 2 large vidalia onions, halved, thinly sliced
  • 1 large green bell pepper, cut into 1/2-inch-wide strips
  • 1/2 pound yellow squash (about 2 medium), cubed
  • 1/2 pound zucchini (about 2 medium), cubed
  • course sea salt to taste

Whisk vinegar, honey and mustard in medium bowl. Gradually whisk in oil. Stir in garlic, thyme, and basil. Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Dressing can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.

Preheat oven to 450°F. Toss onions and remaining vegetables in large bowl; sprinkle with coarse salt and pepper. Add dressing; toss to coat. Spread on a large rimmed baking sheet. Roast until vegetables are tender and slightly brown around edges, about 35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

