Nutella Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

I was washing dishes earlier and I completely sliced my thumb open on a vegetable peeler.

It was painful, it was bloody and it was unanticipated.

I mean, obviously…I’m out of band-aids.

But still, I dealt with it.     Such is a level of unplanned diversion I can handle. No problemo.

Over the past year, I’ve made major strides in my relations to life’s wacky little uncertainties. Ya know, I can eat my Monday oatmeal on Thursday morning if that’s what I happen to be feeling this week.    Whatevs.

And yet, the altitude of ambiguity I presently have pervading through my life is highly unsettling.     Like, I really can’t deal.

It’s a long story… you don’t care & I don’t wanna share. Cool. Not important anyway.

Point is, today, I stand at a mental crossroads…trying to decide whether it’s better to be the (wo)man with a plan or the kind of person who can throw some junk in a bag and spontaneously hop on a plane somewhere .

Cause uh, right now, I am so not that person.   I can pretend to a certain extent, but at the end of the day…I still need a vague concept of where that plane is going…and why the heck I’m on it…and if I packed appropriate pants.

Sorry, this doesn’t make a whole lot of sense anymore. Poorly developed metaphor. Let’s just forget it ever happened.

I think my baking passion stems partially from my innate desire for assurance.

People always say that people who love math also love baking.       I despise math.  I don’t know what these aforementioned people are talking about half the time.

However, there’s definitely some appeal in the formulaic certainty to be found in baking.    As in, I KNOW that if I combine sugar and butter and Nutella and chocolate chips and craisins…something beautiful is gonna come out my oven.           No questions asked.

Sureness…control…Nutella…        delicious.

Maybe I should just stop being a drama queen.     Everybody hates those anyway.

There’s no need to make some grand decision here.

Impulsive Ingrid is no better than Alice Agenda. They’re just two different types of people that’s all. Just different. It takes all kinds. To each their own.    blahdy blah jah.

Problem is, that awaiting some concrete resolution has made me sort of antsy and restless.

When I find myself antsy and restless, I typically want to bake, eat stuff I’ve already baked, pluck my eyebrows or buy stuff.

That list can become quite problematic over an extended period of time.

So, I’m thinking tomorrow’s to-do list is gonna end up looking roughly like:    jog, avoid kitchen, avoid Target, find a husband before turning into a fat, broke spinster with no eyebrows.

Oh, how I do love a good plan.


Nutella Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

2/3 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup Nutella
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (6 oz) package craisins
2/3 cup chocolate chunks or chips

Preheat oven to 375ºF.

Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar together in a medium mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in the Nutella.  Add eggs, mixing well. Combine oats, flour, baking soda and salt in a separate mixing bowl. Add to butter mixture in several additions, mixing well after each addition. Stir in dried cranberries and chocolate chunks.

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire rack.

One thought on “Nutella Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

