S’mores Cupcakes

Confessions:

I am currently wearing a Snuggie. The end.

&

I have a slight mental… issue… against cupcakes.

I wouldn’t exactly call it a beef or a grudge, more of a strange stigma.

It’s probably all my dad’s fault. He used to rip on cupcakes for being cruddy little excuses to pile up mountains of  God-awful, nauseatingly  sweet icing. But then again, my pops doesn’t much care for cake at all.

Yeah I know right…how I can possibly be the spawn of someone who doesn’t find the thought of eating cake for dinner appealing, I’ll never understand.

Anywho, I would usually argue with him for the sake of the cupcake. But more so, just to argue I guess.         So maybe, now I subconsciously associate cupcakes with conflict?

There’s a minute possibility that I’m reading too far into this.

No okay, if we’re being honest, I think pop culture’s extensively freaky PDA love affair with the cupcake is what really get’s my goat.

Like, if you’re so into cupcakes that you want one tattooed on your rump… fine.

You think they’re so dagum cute that you feel compelled to say things like “Oh man, I think I’ll just whip up some darling wittle chocolate cuppies for dessert” …yeah, uh okay.

If you honestly find the whole cupcake concept so intriguing that you’re called to cook entire meals in you cupcake tins and start dishing out oh so adorable “meatloaf cupcakes with mashed potato frosting” or “macaroni cupcakes with  cheesy glaze” …whatever dude, it’s your life.

However, if you do happen to find yourself following in any of the aforementioned behavioral patterns, just be aware…    you are probably a highly annoying individual.

And this just got real.

Calm down. I’m totally joshing ya.

Or maybe not so much.   But it’s cool, even if you are super obnoxious about cupcakes, we could still be friends.               Sometimes.

Point is, because of this sickening sugar-coated social phenomenon, I personally can only bring myself to break out the cupcake pan if I am deeply filled with a cupcakeish calling.

And this week, I was. I so was.

As in, down to the inner most core of my being… all I wanted were cupcakes.

Twas kinda freaky. Perhaps, the craving  was actually just a masked psychological longing for resolution with my father.                           Ha.

Whatever the reason, we have cupcakes. That’s what matters.

All else aside,  cupcakes are crazy fun to play dress up with.

For instance, these s’more cupcakes right hur encapsulate all the tender nostalgia of warm summer twilight spent singing goofy songs and sharing stories around campfires with  family and friends.                      How very delicious.

More confessions…

I’ve never done any of that.

No camping. No campfire shenanigans. Nope. Notta. None of it.        Actually, I’d never even eaten a s’more until last year.      I have no earthly idea what was up with my childhood.

But hey, I’m totes on the bandwagon. S’mores are so legit. I mean, they’re freaking good.

And when you toss all the elements which appeal so very sweetly to your s’more receptors into a little cake… that’s really freaking good too.

In order to truly capture that sense of campfire authenticity, the cake batter relies primarily on finely crushed graham crackers rather than flour. We’re gonna bake those up with a rich chocolate ganache filling, then top them off with gooey marshmallow buttercream frosting.             Ya dig?

To wrap this up, please allow me to briefly reiterate my personal philosophy on the cupcake. Take it or leave it.

Cupcakes can be fun. They can be delicious. They are super little sugar canvases for creativity. They are perfect for filling childhood emotional voids on various levels.

But… cupcakes can quite easily exit your oven as total little cake trolls if you don’t watch it.         They’re very prone to over-baking and subsequently yield sandpaper dry cake, that people tend to attempt covering under gobs of icing and cutsie image ploys.

Please don’t ever be that person.

Ain’t fooling nobody.

S’mores Cupcakes

For the marshmallow buttercream frosting:

  • 8 oz. jumbo (or mini) marshmallows
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 & 1/2-3 cups powdered sugar

Heat the butter, marshmallows and milk in a saucepan over medium heat until melted. Whisk together until smooth. remove from heat and allow to cool. Place in a large heat-proof bowl, beat in powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time.

Set aside.

For the chocolate ganache filling:

  • 4 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tbsp butter

Place chocolate in a stainless steel bowl. Heat the cream and butter over medium-low until just boiling. Remove from heat and immediately pour over chocolate. Let stand 5 minutes, then whisk until smooth. Place in the freezer.

For the cupcakes:

From Bon Appetit

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (about 15 whole crackers ground in processor)
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
 Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 12 standard muffin cups with paper liners. Whisk graham crumbs, flour, baking powder, and pinch of salt in a medium bowl. Beat butter and sugar in large bowl until light and fluffy. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating to blend between additions. Beat in vanilla. Add graham-cracker mixture in 3 additions alternately with milk in 2 additions, beginning and ending with graham-cracker mixture.
Fill muffin cups 1/3 of the way with batter. Spoon now hardened ganache into the center of each cup by teaspoon. Divide remaining batter between the cups to cover ganache.

Bake cupcakes until tester inserted into center come out clean, about 22 minutes. Transfer cupcakes to rack; cool completely.

Spoon marshmallow buttercream frosting over each cupcake. Garnish with additional crushed graham crackers and melted chocolate drizzle.

2 thoughts on “S’mores Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

