Chicken Liver Pate with French Peasant Toasts

Isn’t it weird how sometimes something can come off so stinking pretentious when you sit it next to a redneck cousin?

I’m not talking you vs. second cousin Jimbo .

Nah. Slightly different story.

Think more in the liver family.

See, when I was a young wipper-snapper, I possessed a deep affinity for deep-fried chicken livers.

Sometimes, my dad would randomly bring me a box of them when he came home from work…my own special box, just for me. Probably cause no one else in our family would touch them, but oh buddy…

I vividly remember sitting there on our fantastically 90s blue and white checkered couch, a wee queen of hog heaven with that grease-sodden cardboard treasure chest in my lap. I would ease into palate paradise one pretty little fried gem at a time.

Cherished childhood reminiscence right there.

Okay so, if I ever happen to share that anecdotal factoid with people today, I tend to get those “Oh… real classy” looks.

You know what I’m talking about…    Like that time you tried to inconspicuously deal with a wedgie, but there happened to be a random tour group passing behind you. Yeah, like that… that moment you turn around and bam.                         May or may not have occurred earlier today.

Even when I say things like “deep affinity” in reference to crispy fried bird intestines…          still, those stares.

Well, I honestly haven’t regularly consumed fried livers since I was about 8 years old. I’ve obvi seen a lot of changes in my life since those days, and I’m growing into a charming young lady.                       ish

Well,  I bake bread. That counts for something.

I mean you know… I’m in my own place, I pay bills and junk, I’ve recently began to broaden my travel horizons, I finished my last official class day of sophomore year in college Monday…

Yeah I know. Thanks. Hold your congrats until we get through finals.                                                             Gross.    I’m so over it.

Anyway, I guess now that my life is supposed to be looking more sophisticated, I take my liver in the form of pate.

So instead of deep-frying chicken livers in fat, we can puree them with fat.

I’m fine with that, just so long as the key elements remain the same: liver, fat, delicious.

Break out the crackers pal, it’s time to get ritzy.

Chicken Liver Pate

  • 1 & 1/4 lb chicken livers, cleaned
  • 1 & 1/2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/4 tsp sage
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • pinch nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp bourbon

Heat 2 tbsp of the butter in a large pot or skillet over medium heat, add in the garlic and onion, cook until soft and fragrant. Next, add the livers, sage, thyme, nutmeg, salt and pepper, stirring to coat. Saute until livers are cooked on the outside, but are still pink inside. Remove from heat. Stir in the bourbon.

Place the remaining butter in the bowl of a food processor, then pour in the liver mixture. Puree until smooth. With the motor running, pour in the heavy cream in a continuous stream and run until the mixture is smooth. Taste, and adjust seasonings to your liking. Pour the pate into a plastic container and press a piece of plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the pate. Refrigerate until firm, about 2-3 hours. Spread over toasts or crackers.

French Peasant Bread

Adapted from Taste & Tell

makes 2 round loaves

  • 1 tablespoon quick rising yeast
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4-5 cups all-purpose flour (you may need more or less than this…substitute up to 1/2 with whole wheat flour)

corn meal
1/4 cup butter, melted

Combine the yeast, water and sugar in a large bowl.  Allow the yeast to bloom for a few minutes.  Add the flour and salt and stir just until combined.  Do not knead.  Cover and let rise until doubled in size, about an hour.  Dust a cookie sheet with corn meal.  Remove from the bowl, and with floured hands, shape into 2 round loaves.  Place loaves on the prepared cookie sheet.  Let rise for an additional hour.

Preheat oven to 425F.  Use half of the melted butter and brush on top of the loaves.  Bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 375F and cook an additional 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and brush with the remaining butter.

Allow the bread to  cool. When ready to use, preheat your broiler slice thinly with a bread knife, then place on a lightly greased cookies sheet. Broil on high 4-7 minutes or until browned. Watch carefully to prevent burning. Flip the toasts and continue baking for about three minutes more.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Liver Pate with French Peasant Toasts

  1. Pingback: Ratatouille « Beauty & the Feast

  2. Pingback: Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

