Veal Burgers with Roasted Asparagus

This is so bad.

I’ve had 3 harsh realizations today:

  1. I’m the world’s worst dieter.
  2. In real life, I have terribly potent southern drawl
  3. My summer brain is so on.

…It’s only April.

Ever since Monday, all I can think about is laying out, sun-burning myself nice & crispy, eating ice cream and watching The Hills.

Actually, in all honesty, that last one I think comes more from the fact that a dear sweet darling friend of mine referred to me as “the Lauren Conrad of food” the other day.       She earned #1 golden friend status with that one.     I mean, I’d be honored if I were considered the Lauren Conrad of dry cleaning.

Dude, I miss that show. I’ve listened to the uplifting theme song everyday this week. Which makes me feel like dancing in the sun wearing relatively little clothing.     Oh summer…

Only problem is…it’s not summer time.         Actually, for those of you who don’t remember or have yet to experience it, these next few weeks are an utterly terrifying period for students.

End of semester… finals… YES… got this.

It’s legit crucial that I exit margarita mode and enter kill mode.      Uhhhh like right now.

PS… Did Lauren Conrad ever even go to college? Or are Laguna Beach kids exempt from that junk?       What does this have to do with veal burgers?

Um.

My brain be squishy like ground meat?

No okay… My head says summer. Burgers say summer cook-outs. Burgers are fun. So is summer.                          But oh hey, IT’S NOT SUMMER.


Asparagus says spring.   Hot sam, I got something right.



Veal Burgers

  • 1 lb ground veal
  • 1/3 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/8 cup finely diced green onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • hearty whole wheat bread or buns

Toppings:

  • fresh mozzarella and/or Romano cheeses
  • fresh spinach
  • sauteed onions
  • fresh tomato slices

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, thoroughly combining with hands. Spray a large skillet with non stick cooking spray and heat on medium. Shape the meat mixture into four equal patties. cook the patties in the skillet, flipping occasionally, until browned on both sides and cooked through.

Remove burgers to bread and top with chosen toppings.

Roasted Asparagus

  • 1 lb fresh asparagus, washed and trimmed
  • 1 & 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Toss the asparagus with the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper.

Spread in an even layer on a cookie sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes. Asparagus should be tender, but still crisp.

9 thoughts on “Veal Burgers with Roasted Asparagus

  1. …and a generous grate of a good Parmesan cheese on that asparagus…yum city! Had that with ribeye steak recently and told my husband if I were on death row, this would be my meal. He replied with hope that I’d never find myself in that position.

    Continuing to love your blog!

    • Yessss!! Ugh sounds perfect, the Parm would definitely be finish it off just right.
      Throw some potatoes in there, I’ll join you on death row for dinner…hopefully there will be something chocolate for dessert 🙂

  2. Pingback: Veal Burgers with Roasted Asparagus (via Beauty & the Feast) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  3. These burgers look great. Yes, even at my age, I remember those days of lying in the sun, slathering on the lotion, listening to good music and drinking beer! I tanned so easily and was surely a sun worshipper and could not wait to get out in the mornings. There is something about feeling the hot sun beating down on you. Thanks for your comment. I am addicted to sweets. I hope you have a good week.

  4. Pingback: Crostinini Double Take « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

