Spinach Gorgonzola Frittata

 

I currently have two slight issues on my plate:

  1. I’m hongry for lasagna
  2. It’s hard cooking for one

Generally, I do a pretty decent job of eating a varied diet, but let’s be honest…there’s a lot of recipes that are not super compatible for someone grubbing solo.

…lasagna, for instance.

Take something like a frittata.

Nice simple supper for a family of four, plus a few leftover slices for a sweet reheat breakfast, yeah?

 

Okay well, for just little old me…

That’s alotta frittata.

When I make something like this, I’m eating off the thing for a solid week. Often, for more than one meal in a day.

I dig frittata, but dang.

You so rarely have this issue with baked goods.

It’s a heck of a lot easier/less weird to push some cookies or a chunk of pie off on people than say.. enchiladas or something.

Sure… I freeze soup and I’m a total leftover wizard, but I’ve an overwhelming hunch that there are more tricks of the trade that I’m probably in the dark on.

I guess what I’m trying to get at here, is I could use a flashlight.

If you happen to cook for no one but you and perhaps a cat, and you have some culinary-related wisdom  about that whole issue…don’t hesitate to share.

I’ll become your new best friend & we can throw  dinner parties together.

Then, we’ll both have relief from lonely cooking.

Woah. Sometimes, I’m so smart it hurts.

 

Spinach Gorgonzola Frittata

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 medium russet potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 a small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • roughly 1 handful fresh basil, roughly chopped
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 4 ounces Gorgonzola cheese
  • 2 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease an 8×8 glass baking dish.

Heat 1 tbsp oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the potatoes until they begin to soften, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and arrange in an even layer in the casserole dish. Add the remaining tablespoon oil to the pan saute the onion and garlic until onion begins to soften, add in the spinach and basil. Cook until spinach begins to wilt. Remove from heat.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and pepper. Stir in the spinach and onions. Pour the mixture evenly over the potatoes. Sprinkle both cheeses over top. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until eggs are just set. Don’t over-bake.

 

3 thoughts on “Spinach Gorgonzola Frittata

  1. I haven’t had a frittata in so long, then you throw in the spinach.. and I am definitely trying this recipe as soon as I can. I really enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

