Mint Chocolate Cake Bites

Top O’ the mornin to ya.

I just did a little reading up on the origins of St. Patrick’s Day.

Mainly because I had been thinking about what all traditions the holiday entails and was  like… wait, what?

All holidays have some weird  quirks, but I feel like St Patty’s is totally built off of them.

The required uniformity of color, the pinching, the creepy little gingers running around with buckets of gold.

I don’t know…it all just seems kind of bizarre. Then, I really confused myself because I was utterly convinced that St. Patrick’s Day started as a Pagan holiday, but no…it has a saint’s name in the title…I think that was actually Mardi Gras…and yeah I’m really not sure…and what on God’s green earth does any of this have to do with snakes going into the sea and dying rivers green??

All the while I’m just sitting here wondering, is mint even a legit St. Patrick’s Day flavor?

I feel like it is.

All you really need to take away from that spastic mind burp is… The official St. Patrick’s Day color actually used to be blue. Not green.

How bizarre would that be if on March 17th, you’d be getting pinched for not wearing blue? People would be dying rivers blue…which is the color they’re supposed to be anyway, everyone would be drinking blue beer, there would probably be Smurf paraphernalia everywhere …and these here cake bites, they would be coated in blue sprinkles…which wouldn’t properly reflect their minty interior so well as green.

Weird.

 

Please pardon my essentially pointless musings.

My brain feels a little sludgy. I’m on spring break, and I haven’t been allowed to lay around carefree in the sun yet. I think my body is telling me that I need to give in and go get a sexy tan.

Or something.

 

Anyway, this is like the third time I’ve made cake bites now, and have never posted on them. Why?

Yet another mystery I have no answer to.

They’re great though. Really easy, endless flavor combo possibilities, ultra moist, kinda cute…plus it’s super fun to bake a cake, then tear it to shreds. I totally recommend you do so.

Mint and chocolate are one of my all time favorite flavor marriages, so I honestly don’t really care if it’s St Patrick’s Day appropriate. Just so long as they’re wearing green, I think we’re good.

 

Mint Chocolate Cake Bites

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix & ingredients required on box (you can make your own cake from scratch, but you’re just tearing it up anyway)
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 &1/2 to 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 to 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 lb white chocolate candy coating
  • sprinkles to decorate–optional*

Prepare cake according to box instructions and allow to cool completely on a wire rack. Crumble cake into fine crumbs in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat the butter on low-speed until fluffy, add in the peppermint extract, then powdered sugar by half cup. Beat in milk by tablespoon until desired consistency. Add the peppermint buttercream into the large bowl of cake crumbs and beat on low until the cake and frosting are evenly combined. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.

Once cake mixture is chilled, remove from fridge and roll into bite sized balls and place on a wax paper lined cookie sheet. You can return the prepared balls to the fridge or freezer while melting the chocolate. Melt the chocolate candy coating in a saucepan over low heat, stirring continuously.

Dip each ball in the melted chocolate and return to cookie sheet, garnish with sprinkles if desired, and allow to harden. Store cake bites in an air-tight container in the fridge.

5 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Cake Bites

    • You nephew has his priorities in line…anyone who is gonna make me cake balls automatically lands on my list of fav people. I have a bit of Irish heritage going on, but unfortunately no authentic family dishes in the repertoire. boo.

  1. Pingback: Banana Cream Cake Bites « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

