Butterscotch Mocha Macchiato Cookies

Wanna hear something really funny?

I, sugar-addict Darcy, will be consensually abstaining from sweets for the next 38 days.

Might not seem like a huge deal to a lot of people, but it’s not like I just have some major sweet tooth…every tooth in my dagum head is sweet, so the idea of temporarily excluding  them from my life is just..

Absolutely hilarious. I know.

HAHAHA

See, I was raised sorta Catholic-ish…and it’s Lent and I need to endure 40 days of self-denial in order to purify my soul and stuff.

Like my digestive system.

 

When Fat Tuesday rolled around, I realized..

  1. I have leftover cream cheese frosting sitting in my fridge.
  2. 40 days is over a month…that’s a painfully long time to be disciplined.
  3. I should probably burn myself out on sweets. Quick.

I contemplated what to do about the cream cheese dilemma first…not enough to frost a cake, but too much to eat with a spoon. As I stood staring at this purposeless bag of icing sitting sadly on my counter, it dawned on me… I was out of butter.

How ya gonna celebrate fat Tuesday without butter?

We’ll skip the journey through the various avenues of my lardy brain, but long story short…these butterscotch mocha macchiato cookies became a quick-fix  solution to all of my quandaries.

For the um second night in a row, I shamelessly replaced dinner with dessert.

Big Pig Bacon Bark, cake bites, peanut butter coated pretzels, and these here cookies…balanced meal, yeah?

Yeah.

Protein, caffeine, fat, sugar, chocolate. I’m good.

 

P.S. my sugar burn-out…it lasted for about 20 minutes. After that, I just wondered why I hadn’t made a pie too.

 

A macchiato is a popular coffee-like beverage consisting of espresso “marked” with milk.

We’re essentially implementing the same concept here…only in a chocolate butterscotch-stoked cookie form, marked with cream cheese.

Understandably, most of you may not have a cup of left over cream cheese frosting chilling out in your fridge, awaiting to fulfill its destiny within a cookie; but if you make a typical batch of the frosting (1 stick butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 cups powdered sugar…you know the drill), you can simply double the other components of the recipe and make twice as many cookies. I seriously doubt anyone will mind.

The dark decadence of cocoa and espresso melds with smooth  cream cheese to yield a thin and delightfully rich chewy cookie.

…and loaded with chocolate and butterscotch chips makes for a most perfect final evening of sweet bliss.

Or for normal people,  they just go really well with a cup of coffee.

By the way, my taking a brief break from all things sugary requires no suffering on your part.  I have a little stash of sweet treat recipes to supplement throughout Lent. And maybe this will help me to focus on a few more savory creations…get some yin going with my yang.

Yeah, I’m not quite sure what that was supposed to mean either. Just sorta seemed right.

Regardless, sound like a solid plan?

Sweet. I thought so too.

 

Butterscotch Mocha Macchiato Cookies

  • 1 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp instant espresso powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup prepared cream cheese frosting
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract.

Preheat oven to 350F.

Sift together all dry ingredients (flour, soda, baking powder, salt, cocoa, espresso powder) in a medium mixing bowl. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat together the cream cheese frosting, egg, and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla. Beat in dry mixture in increments.

Drop by tablespoon onto lightly greased cookie sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges begin to crisp. Allow to cool on pan for ten minutes, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

 

5 thoughts on “Butterscotch Mocha Macchiato Cookies

  1. Pingback: Mardi Gras King Cake « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

