Potato Croquettes

I love how in the foodie universe, basically every single day is declared “National/International ___________ Day”

Faux food holidays make life way more fun and festive. Ya know?

Shoot, it’s a fresh new week and my eyelashes are super big and curly today…why not celebrate?

Well lucky for us, this entire week happens to be National Pancake Week.

I like pancakes. I totally support this week. I considered making some honey whole wheat pancakes yesterday, but then…I did not.

I made theses green onion-specked potato croquettes instead. Calling them croquettes makes them sound way fancier than they truly are. If we’re being honest, these puppies are nothing more than petite potato pancakes.

 

 

Crispy on the outside, fluffy-soft on the inside. Good stuff. Very good stuff indeed.

Even better stuff is that they’re way simple, totally resourceful, and ya’ll know my favorite…extremely adaptable.

Serve them at brunch with poached eggs or salmon locks. Or as a side at supper, topped with sour cream. Or as an appetizer with whatever the heck you want on them for Wednesday dinner with the Shuberts.

 

See what I mean? Adaptable.

In all truthfulness, I have never had a Wednesday dinner with the Shuberts. I don’t even know anyone named Shubert. Chances are, you don’t either. However, it is highly likely that you have–or will have sometime in the upcoming future– a tupperware of cold leftover mashed potatoes hanging around in your fridge. They would come in right handy here.

I opted for these croquettes over  traditional maple syrup drenched pancakes mainly because I had a sack of taters sitting in my pantry that were starting to grow little eyes. I don’t approve of food staring at me, and wasn’t about to let 10 pounds of potatoes go by the wayside. No sir. Not uh. Not when you can boil em, mash em, stick em in a stew… or turn em into crunchy croquettes.

 

Regardless of whether or not you’re trying to salvage a family of taters , I highly encourage you to make these pretentious sounding potato pancakes for a quick easy peasy dinner tonight, and spiritedly celebrate NPW.

Just for kicks, you should also consider listening to this as you do so. and scream “potato!” every time Jack goes to say banana.

Cause it’s fun.

 

And don’t forget to hit up IHOP tomorrow to claim your free short stack and donate to charity. Rock on National Pancake Week, rock on.

Potato Croquettes

  • 2 cups mashed potatoes, chilled
  • 1/4 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onion
  • 1 large egg, slightly beaten
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, for frying

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

Place all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and combine thoroughly with a large fork.

Form into croquettes about 1/2 inch thick. Fry croquettes 3 or 4 at a time in the heated oil until brown and crisp. Flip and brown the other side. Remove to a paper-towel lined plate to drain.

Serve however you desire.

4 thoughts on “Potato Croquettes

  1. Calling them croquettes makes it sound more homey to, like you channeled your inner Paula Dean. Love that you added the green onion, I am just waiting for spring so I can start heading to the farmers market and getting that stuff fresh.

  2. Hi Darcy,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!! I wholeheartedly concur–I’ll take a pancake any day. Just this past weekend in NC I had some with molasses. I used to hate that as a child but now I prefer it to maple syrup!

Leave a Reply

