Banana Bread and a Bit of Beef

Would you like to make that a combo?

Heck yes you would.

Combos are the cat’s meow.

So what are we combo-ing here?

Well, first let’s go with a crunchy oatmeal topping and banana bread combo and then, were gonna combo that banana bread with a brief review of Athen’s oldest bar & grill, Allen’s.

PS I am totally aware of the word “combine,” I just prefer to use my own terminology, thanks.

I talk about titles a lot. Maybe because I tend to have trouble with them. Anyway, my first instinct was to call this post “Banana Bread with a Bit of Beef.”

Sounds like I put beef in my banana bread, doesn’t it?

Grody.

 

 

Hey guess what, I think yesterday might possibly turn out to be one of the most momentous days  in my wee existence thus far. I don’t want to tell you about it yet and  jinx myself  though. Just be aware that I’m in a euphoric mood and am mentally sharing my euphoria vibes with you. Weeeeeeeeee.

Guess what else…this nanner loaf  might just be the start of a gentle transition away from the chocolate-laden decadence I’ve been so bent on lately. A smooth step towards that savory recipe I swore would happen at some point this week. Maybe.

I even used whole wheat flour in my bread. That has to count for something. Feel free to likewise substitute up  to 3/4 cup for that extra whole grain boost.

I should assume that if whole wheat banana bread is a step away from dessert, a Philly cheese-steak with a side of baked beans would be considered a healthy leap, right?

Okay so, like I said, Allen’s Bar & Grill is the oldest remaining eatery in Athens, GA. That in mind, I was oober excited to try it out and experience what I hoped would be amongst the most authentic local flavor Athens had to offer.

No. Wrong. Lies. I got next to no true sense of Athens culture or history from the actual restaurant, nor its menu. My food was decent at best…the cheese-steak was about on the same level as the UGA dinning hall’s. Now, I tend to critically judge a place’s value based on the quality of their baked beans. Mainly because…I flipping love baked beans. Allen’s beans had a pleasant smokey flavor, but were rather watery and contained large chunks of raw onion. I might just be being picky, but I want my baked beans to have a substantial saucy body to them, not float around in bbq-tainted broth. And those harsh raw onions interrupting my attempt at  sweet baked bean zen need to just go on home.

Overall, decent, but nothing to write home about. Especially considering the fact that I had to endure not one, but two outdated Rhianna songs throughout the course of the meal…seriously?  How they have survived as the longest standing bar & grill in Athens, I don’t know.

Whatever, make banana bread. Skip Allen’s. The end.

 

Crunch Top Banana Loaf

  • 1 & 3/4  cup all-purpose flour (substitute up to 3/4 C whole wheat)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp honey

Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan . Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon; set aside.

Cream mashed bananas with eggs and oil, beat in sugar, honey, and vanilla. Then beat in yogurt.

Mix in dry ingredients in increments.

Pour into prepared pan and top with crumb topping. Bake for an hour to an hour & ten minutes.

 

For the topping:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter, chilled
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

In a small mixing bowl, cut 2 tbsp butter into sugar, oats, and cinnamon. Work into a grainy texture and spread over top of loaf.


3 thoughts on “Banana Bread and a Bit of Beef

  1. Pingback: Orange Cinnamon Sugar Cookies with Bourbon Brown Sugar Frosting « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

