Deep Dark Brownies

I feel like when it comes to the basics–you know as in the building blocks of your baking & the cornerstones of your cookery– everyone needs their own personal arsenal of “go to” recipes.

The recipes you can always rely on, that serve as a basis for comparison, a solid starting point for variation

A cookie dough you can count on…

A pastry dough for the ages…

A brownie we can believe in…

 

Ladies and gentlemen, I do believe I have found just that. And after 5 dozen brownies within two days, I sure as heck better have.

I could keep my deep dark brownies a deep dark secret, except that secrets secrets are no fun unless they’re told to everyone. I like fun, so let’s do this thing.

If by chance you never encountered that little “secrets” ditty as a child, I apologize for sounding really dumb just now.  If you are familiar with it, I apologize for being really annoying.

Anywho..

 

Look now, brownie enthusiasts are typically extremely opinionated when it comes to method and resulting consistency of a brownie.

You have your die-hard melted chocolate fanatics who think that the only true brownie is a decadently dense, oober rich, fudgey brownie. Then you’ve got the cocoa powder people who prefer a more solid, chocolate cookie-bar-like brownie and think those fudge freaks need to find a golden ticket to Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory and just stay there floatin around the chocolate river with the oompa loompas.

Or something like that.

Personally,  I’m terribly indecisive. In fact, I’m probably the most indecisive human being on the planet and the only thing I really know for sure is that I love chocolate.

Being that I’m a lover not a fighter, I’m a big fan of the happy medium.

That means we’re going with both cocoa powder and chocolate.

Say goodbye to angry over-opinionated baker battling, and hello to serious chocolate zen.

I started off with the most simplest brownie recipe I could find in  Jean Anderson and Elaine Hannas’ classic, The New Doubleday Cookbook. If you don’t have a copy, I highly suggest you pull up a tab and go scour e-bay when you’re done here. That book is a kitchen Bible.  Case closed.

Which brings up another good point… along with your collection of personal base recipes, having a few great all-purpose reference cookbooks on hand is a great idea.

It’s like having a compassionate non-judgemental expert in the kitchen with you all the time. Who doesn’t love that?

 

Okay, besides the double dose of chocolate lovin, what really puts these brownies in a league of their own is the addition of one tsp instant coffee granules disintegrated  with the melted butter & chocolate.

Don’t spazz if you’re not into coffee and mocha and whatnot, you won’t taste outright coffee at this amount, stick with me here.


Like all perfect couples, chocolate & coffee bring out the best in one another. Coffee, believe it or not, fully highlights chocolate’s deepest, most robust, chocolatey flavor.

Chocolate + Coffee= soul-mates forever. Always remember that. Go carve it in a tree. Call up Taylor Swift, we’ve got us a love story.

I kinda casually mentioned earlier that this recipe came along with consecutively baking multiple batches of brownies. I’d just like to clarify that I wasn’t in some vicious chocolate bingeing mood…alright, I might have been, but that’s totally besides the point.

I decided this semester to attempt a little on-the-side, word-of-mouth baking undertaking and the brownie bonanza was actually a part of my first order.

On that note, if you’re in the Athens, GA area, in need of some sweet baked goodness, and would enjoy aiding ya girl in raising some moola to go study food and wine in Italy…well, you know who to call.

(ME).

 

Darcy’s Deep Dark Brownies

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate morsels
  • 1/4 cup milk chocolate morsels
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp instant coffee granules

Preheat oven to 350F and grease an 8×8 inch baking pan. Set aside

In a small saucepan melt the butter over low heat then stir in all of the chocolate morsels until smooth and melted stir in the teaspoon of coffee granules. Remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cocoa powder in a small mixing bowl and set aside.

Beat the eggs and sugar until light and fluffy, then add in the vanilla. Mix in the melted chocolate in a slow steady stream until combined. Beat in the dry ingredients in increments. Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the surface into an even layer. Bake 30-35 minutes, brownies will begin to slightly from the sides of the pan.

Cool in pan on a wire rack to room temperature. Cut and serve.

9 thoughts on “Deep Dark Brownies

  1. I was looking down the list of ingredients trying to figure out where the magic happened, and then I hit the bottom! Coffee grounds!? Simple, yet I bet it adds a whole different layer to these. Have you tried whipping up some coffee icing yet?

    • Tis true, the coffee totally brings out all of chocolate deepest darkest chocolateness. Miraculous.
      Ugh no! I haven’t had an excuse yet to break out some coffee frosting…I might just have to have a celebrate me and my love of java day and make a big fat mocha cake covered in the stuff!!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate & Peanut Butter Truffle Cake « Beauty & the Feast

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Pretzel Buckeyes « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

