Cornbread Bites

 

I miss you.

You may not miss me, but I sure miss you.

A whole lot actually.

 

 

See what happened was my laptop somehow managed to catch a malicious soul-sucking virus, so Toby the Toshiba is currently dying in the hands of tech support.

I might be dramatizing a little, but the situation still seriously bites.

Wait, I think I already whined about this last post…point it, I still have no laptop

Thankfully, my sweet dumpling of a roommate is lending me her computer for a bit.

Being that I’m already desperately behind with it being the start of a new semester and basically my whole life being in my laptop, we’re gonna have to make this pretty quick and painless.

I just used the word “being” three times in a sentence. Beat that.

The quick and painless concept works out well here, because these little nibblets are just that.

I actually made them first as an appetizer for Thanksgiving, and then again for Christmas Eve.

Cause they’re quick, painless, and include the two essential elements of a decent southern snackie appetizer dish: cream cheese & bacon.

Which coincidentally, are two of the greatest foods known to man. Duh.

I don’t care what we’re talking about, 99% of the time, if you add bacon or cream cheese or both into the mix…things only get way better.

Oh, and remember when we made cranberry cornbread? Of course you do, it was so festive.

Anyway, we’re totally remixing that here.

In my head, I name these baked holiday hushpuppies.

That’s what they taste like to me…a hybrid of cornbread dressing and a hushpuppy.

I think they would pair very well with a sweet raspberry dipping sauce. Yum, yes, do that.

But don’t save them for the holidays, whip some up for Monday night football. I don’t even know if it’s football season, but whatever, just have some people over on Monday night and watch Skins on MTV.

As much as I love you, I have to deal with other portions of my life while I have internet access…fingers crossed for a proper reunification ASAP.

 

Cornbread Bites

  • 1 recipe cranberry cornbread
  • 1 small sweet onion, finely diced
  • 2 ribs celery, finely diced
  • 2 large eggs, slightly scrambled
  • 1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1-3 tbsp milk
  • 4-6 strips bacon
  • a few dashes of your favorite dressing herbs(I threw in just a bit of sage, thyme, and rosemary for a little flavor depth)

Saute the bacon in a skillet over medium heat until crisp remove to paper towels to cool and drain; set aside. In the same skillet, saute the onion and celery in the bacon fat until tender and fragrant. Remove from heat and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl crumbled the prepared  and cooled cranberry cornbread into fine crumbs. Add in the eggs, cream cheese, onions, and celery. Combine thoroughly with a large spoon. Crumble in cooled bacon and herbs. Stir in milk by tablespoon to moisten.

Roll the mixture into small balls (about 1 to 1& 1/2 inches in diameter) and place  on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350F for 15-25 minutes or until a light golden brown.

7 thoughts on “Cornbread Bites

  1. This will most definitely have to be made here. Great idea! Look’s like something straight off the shelves of Trader Joe’s or something, but exponentially more delicious because they’re home-made!

Leave a Reply

