Sweet-N-Salty Nut Mix

A great number of things have been driving me nuts here lately.

Topping the list is the malicious virus currently plaguing my laptop, along with the fact that I can’t do a darn thing about it being that outside life has been placed on hold since Monday.

Snow is rapidly losing its appeal.

 

Seriously, I feel like a prisoner of icy restlessness.

No driving, no functioning destination to drive to anyway, walking on iced over sidewalks is decidedly hazardous, daytime television reeks, and Toby the Toshiba is dying. NO COMPUTER….meaning no Facebooking, no e-mailing, no tweeting, no tastespotting, no blogging, no homeworking, no researching,  no foodgawking, nothing, notta, no.

At least, beyond what generous friends and currently limited public computer access will allow.

Tuesday, I literally sat in front of the TV watching Teen Mom on MTV and coloring. It was sad.

 

I know I’m coming off like a whiny brat right about now, but we all deserve at least a few excusable spouts of brattiness every now and again. I had to make 30 minute trek to a gas station in the arctic cold yesterday morning, just to have milk in my coffee for crying out loud…you should have seen my ratty-looking self shuffling up an iced-over hill cradling a gallon of overpriced milk and busting my rump every 20 feet. So pathetic.

And sadly, that was the uplifting outing of the past two days. Cabin fever is taking over my brain, I’m not in a healthy state of mind…if I start foaming at the mouth, just put me down.

No, actually, don’t do that.

Give me a taco instead. I think that might help.

But you know, all of this mess has caused me t0 fully realize a couple of things about myself..

  1. Even though I am painfully technologically inept, I heartily rely on my computer. More so than I ever thought.
  2. I am awful at being unproductive.

Every now and again, some lazy bum time is nice; however, I recognize and accept that I’m a slight  workaholic. If there are constructive tasks I could be performing, I’m just not cool with doing…nothing.

And that’s just how the cookie crumbles. I guess even I can’t be great at everything.

HA.

That was a joke guys.

Alright, I think I’ve made it through my sniveling whininess. Thanks for  your patience in my mini-journey of self-discovery. I’m glad we talked this out.

Now let’s put on our Positive Polly pants… the snow is clearing up, people are beginning to return to their normal existence, I’ll hopefully get this sick laptop issue squared away today, and I haven’t said a single word relating to a sweet and salty candied nut mixture… but it’s so easy to make, going into an in-depth tutorial just isn’t necessary.

Even better, it’s super addictive, makes a great snack for company, and makes for an equally fantastic gift once you jar it up.

Just ask my parents.

Teehee.

 

Sweet-N-Salty Nut Mix

  • 1 large egg white
  • 4 cups nuts of your choice
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup crushed pretzel pieces
  • 1 cup M&Ms candy

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Whisk egg white in a large bowl until foamy, stir in nuts coating well. Stir in sugar, honey, and cinnamon, coating well.

Spread mixture evenly on a lightly greased, aluminum foil-line cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes, stir gently with a wooden spoon and bake 10 to 12 minutes more or until sugar is a light golden brown. Remove from oven and cool completely on pan.

Break up nut mixture into a large bowl and toss with pretzel pieces and M&Ms. Store in an airtight container.

5 thoughts on “Sweet-N-Salty Nut Mix

Leave a Reply

