Russian Tea Cakes

I told you the other day that I would be returning to school, work, hustle, and bustle on Monday.

But I lied.

But not on purpose.

This is what I awoke to yesterday morning.

Terribly exciting considering I’ve spent my entire life in the deep dirty south and have never had a true snowy encounter.

Even more terribly exciting…due to this fresh luscious blanket of icy splendor, class was canceled yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

Like quadruple whammy right?? I    Was   Euphoric.

I figured since I’m getting a lovely little snowy treat, I’d give you one too.

I’m building up some good karma…maybe we’ll be snowed in all week.

I’ve never made Russian tea cakes before, they seem a heck of a lot like Mexican wedding cookies. I’m a fan of either… or both.

Where they come from, where you serve them, and what you call them doesn’t really affect the fact that they’re delicious and joining my archives of annual must-make cookies.

There’s a variety of adjectives you can use to describe these delightful little cookie snowballs.

Soft, nutty, buttery, crumbly, and scrumptious would all suffice.

And yeah, I feel like they go really nicely with a cup of tea.

Of course, they’d go pretty darn well with coffee or hot cocoa or whatever  your particular cup of tea may be.

Pardon the pun.

Snow is cool. Quite literally.

In fact, it’s really stinking cold.

I was smitten tromping through frosty playground for the first 20 minutes, but I think I prefer enjoying the snow from a toasty window-view indoors. Preferably, wrapped in a snuggie and with some snowy powdered sugared treats near by.

A blanket with sleeves and delectably edible snowballs…the only way to be snowed in.

Russian Tea Cakes

From epicurious

  • 2 & 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup pecans or walnuts, finely chopped
  • additional powdered sugar

sift flour and salt together. Using electric mixer, cream butter in large bowl until light. Gradually add 1/2 cup sugar and beat until fluffy. Add vanilla. Mix in dry ingredients in 3 batches. Mix in nuts. Refrigerate at least 1 hour or up to 12 hours.

Preheat oven to 400°F. Form dough into 1-inch balls. Space 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake until just firm to touch, about 15 minutes. Transfer to rack and cool slightly. Roll in powdered sugar. Cool completely. Roll cookies in powdered sugar again. Store in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

