Applesauce Pie with a Side of New Years Sentiments

I’ve bombarded you with cookies and candy and cream…and could quite easily continue to do so for weeks on end. In fact, I might do just that.

Accordingly, I want to wear nothing but oversized t-shirts and sweat pants for the next 6 months. And given how constricted I’m feeling in normal clothes right now, I think that could be my best option.

I ate cookies for dinner last night, have been drinking aspartame-drenched diet soda for days, and I’m surmising that I haven’t haven’t had  a solid day’s servings of veggies in a week.

 There’s a semi-good reason for all the insanity.

I also feel as though I may have been neglecting ya’ll just a smidge here recently, especially this past week.

That might just be in my head because I’ve been ignoring my computer for the past few days; but if not, I am true blue sorry. I really am. I’ll be better in the near future.

Promise.

But I have a reason for this too.

Okay, so, we need to cover those aforementioned reasonings for my questionable behaviours, some musings for the impending new year, and  a pie.  …I feel like I’m about to have a seriously tough time staying focused.

Lies. I already am. Please excuse me, I think my body is going a little spastic from all the sugar.

It’ll be okay. Let’s get this show on the road already.

 Now, why I’ve been sorta lazy and eating like a 200 lb man and inviting you all to do the same…

Well, I’ll be straight up with ya, this past semester has been pretty darn tough on me…actually, this whole year might have stomped me  just a little.

So, I decided that best thing to do was to use as much of Christmas break as humanly possible to indulge, enjoy myself, and heal. That way, I’d be all fresh and ready to welcome in a new year. And guess what…

I AM.

This chickadee right here is ready and pumped to take on each and every obstacle, event, and occurence that arises during the day with a signficantly more conscience, thoughtful, and deliberate perspective.  

I can’t always manipulate what occurs in my life, but I sure can do a better job controlling how I view these things and react to them. I will be presently aware in what I think, feel, eat, say, and do.

Not exactly a profound new concept, but hey, it’s my new year-new me resolution. It is what it is.

I’ve been thinking about it, and I guess life is kind of like a pie. It may seem like a lot of work, yet all in all, it’s really not quite so hard as we make it out to be. I mean yeah, sometimes you gotta put a little time and muscle into  building a good crust to hold everything you take in. And after you have a strong base, there’s the uncertainty as to how much you can pile on top and what proportions are gonna give you that right balance and whether all this junk you’re mixing together is gonna even work out alright. But in the end, after some time, patience, and warmth, you have a delicious product to share with others.

…Wow, um okay, that was a sorta  terrible, poorly construed metaphor.

I apologize. Life pie= failed attempt at being philosophical. I don’t have enough vitamins in me right now to go that deep.

Moral of the story is, consider taking a few minutes today before your New Years Eve shenanigans commence to reflect over what you really want to bring to the table at the onset of a spanking new year. Life is totally weird and spazzy and crazy nuts…and really dagum beautiful. Don’t miss out on that .

On that note, I’d like to share with you a quote from possibly one of my new fav books… “In a world of disorder and disaster and fraud only beauty can be trusted. Only artistic excellence is incorruptible. Pleasure cannot be bargained down. And sometimes the meal is the only currency that is real.” —Eat Pray Love

Have a fantastic New Years Eve. Be safe. Eat pie.

Applesauce Pie

  • pastry dough for one 9 inch pie
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For the Streusel Topping:

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F. Fit prepared pastry dough into a lightly greased 9 inch pie plate and set aside.

Beat together the eggs and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add in the applesauce and butter. Finally whisk in the lemon juice, flour, and vanilla extract, then pour the mixture into prepared pie crust and place into the oven.

 In the mean time, cut together the brown sugar, butter, flour, and cinnamon in a medium bowl until the mixture is the consistency of course crumbs. After the pie has baked for 20 to 30 minutes, remove from oven a sprinkle the streusel topping in an even layer over the pie. Return to oven and continue baking for 15 to 20 minutes.

Remove to a wire rack to cool.

One thought on “Applesauce Pie with a Side of New Years Sentiments

  1. Yes, life is crazy; life is mad. You have such a great attitude about life & I’m so proud of you. 2011 is going to be much better for us all! Can’t wait to try this pie!

Leave a Reply

