Eggnog

I just wanted to take a few minutes to wish you all a very merry  Christmas..

Falalalalalalaaaaaa

Have a cup of cheer. 

I’m wearing a santa hat, watching Christmas episodes of Frasier, and I’m about to go whip up some form of little appetizor thing involving  bacon and cream cheese.

Because that’s just what you do for family Christmas Eve parties down south. Duh.  

I love what a big fat deal food is in holiday traditions. Like seriously, what brings people together better than grub?

Notta alotta.

Some of the best memories, traditions, nostalgia, blahblahblahh comes out of the kitchen. I personally find that tasting reminiscences is probably one of the better ways to go down memory lane.

 Nogging eggs is gonna be my new holiday tradition.

Good golly miss molly, let me tell you, I feel like a complete goober for wasting money on that junk from a carton for so long.

Making your own is really not tricky. Not tricky at all. And way more yummy.

 It really kind of rocks my world how many people straight up dislike eggnog.

Eggnog is creamy and dreamy and tastes like Christmas….for goodness sake, how do you not like the taste of Christmas??

I decided last night that in all its custardy glory,  eggnog is like the drink version of bread pudding…only minus the bread. Lord knows I lurve me some bread pudding.

 Now I will say, from now on I’m gonna make this recipe sans liquor and folks can add in as they deem appropriate.

Emeril Lagasse is a manly man and apparently prefers his holiday beverages with quite a kick.

BAM.

Well dear friends, I have bacon to fry and need to decide whether or not I should wear tights this evening.

So I leave you here this Christmas Eve with a solid eggnog recipe, wishes for the best holiday experience possible, and an insightful x-mas PSA.

I’ve been in a slight funk because it just doesn’t feel like Christmas to me, but  I just needed a little reminder from spending some quality time doing absolutely nothing beyond being goofballs with some old friends throughout this week. Christmas isn’t in elaborate decor or fancy smancy gifts…those things are dandy for sure, but they’re just frills for a much more epic celebration. Christmas is a celebration of love, hope, and new beginnings….baby Jesus..a manger..new life for the world…yeah?

We come together with family and friends to share the festivities. We share memories, we share love, and of course, we share food. So yeah, are you slightly warm and fuzzy yet? Point is, regardless of how you’re celebrating this year, don’t lose the bigger picture in holiday frills. Now go make some eggnog.

Merry Christmas!!!

Eggnog

From Emeril

  • 8 large eggs, 2 separated
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 & 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup bourbon, optional
  • 1/4 cup brandy, optional

Combine the 6 whole eggs, 2 egg yolks, sugar, and salt in a medium mixing bowl and whisk together. Heat 2 cups heavy cream with the milk in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. When the cream and milk are hot, ladle about 1 cup into the egg mixture and whisk to incorporate. Pour the egg-milk mixture into the hot cream mixture, and continue to cook, stirring continuously, until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon, 3 to 5 minutes. Remove the pan from the stove and strain the custard immediately through a fine-mesh sieve. Allow the custard to cool for 10 minutes before proceeding.

Add the vanilla, nutmeg, bourbon (if using), and brandy (if using) to the eggnog and stir well to incorporate. Beat the 2 egg whites to soft peaks in a clean mixing bowl and fold them into the custard base. In a separate bowl, beat the remaining 1/2 cup cream to soft peaks, and fold them into the eggnog as well. Cover and refrigerate until chilled, about 1 hour.

Serve in small glasses. Merry Christmas!!

4 thoughts on “Eggnog

  1. You know it’s funny, I don’t think I’ve ever tried eggnog once in my life, and I’m pushin’ 50. But if it’s the drink version of bread puddin’, I reckon I’d love it! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe. Maybe I’ll give it a try next Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

