Snickerdoodles

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

Finals are finally over.

I’m back home on my couch watching Elf and searching for the perfect eggnog recipe.

All is right with the world. 

 I’ve officially gone into holiday baking mode. I’m not sure what it is, but the minute Christmas break starts, I enter a holiday frenzy and kinda transform into a kitchen elf.

Well, I mentally transform into an elf. In all actuality, I’m still 5’9.”

We can pretend though.

Moral of the story is that you should go ahead and prepare yourself for the spastic flood of cookies, confections, cakes, and the like soon to ensue.

Let’s really build up some hardcore motivation for that stupid skinny New Year’s resolution thing we all know is coming.

Speaking of, is anyone else super sick of the Victoria’s Secret Christmas commercial that keeps interrupting all of my holiday TV specials? Okay, sexy girls in their sexy panties are not what I wanna look at while I eat gingerbread men and fruitcake in my footie pajamas.

No not at all. Sorry.

Snickerdoodles are a super great easy Christmas cookie that you can make with the kiddos.

…Or with a friend who has never made a cookie that isn’t bought in a package from the freezer section of the grocery store.

Though I’ve gotta say, I was quite proud that when she went  out for supplies, this cookie rookie managed to find cream of tarter on her own.

 Now, everyone is fully aware that the charm of a snickerdoodle is in the cinnamon sugar ….that, and the name.

I’ve always gone by the book and limited my cinna-sugaring to the coat you roll your dough in right before baking, but please let me share with you the path to the true snickerdoodle…amplified.

A valued source explained to me that incorporating cinnamon into the dough initially, plus the typical pre-oven blanketing, PLUS  extra cinnamon-sugar sprinkled over top as soon as the cookies are removed from the oven (so that it can get all melty and carmelized from the hot cookie) will give you the most snickerdoodley snickerdoodles ever.

Mind blown? Yes. Gotta do it.

I feel like snickerdoodles had to be named by elves.

My ancient relatives perhaps?

One can dream.

Snickerdoodle Cookies

  • 2 & 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cream of tarter
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 & 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 cup granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 350˚F.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt and cream of tartar.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl,  cream together the 1 1/2 cups sugar and butter until fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time.

Slowly add in the flour mixture.  Form dough into balls.  In a wide bowl, combine the 1/8 cup sugar with the cinnamon. Roll the dough balls in the cinnamon and sugar mixture, then place on baking sheet.  Bake for 12 minutes.

Allow to cool on the sheet for five minutes, remove to a cooling rack to cool completely.

5 thoughts on “Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Three Cheese,Chicken & Spinach Calzones with Marinara Sauce « Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

