Way Too Easy Sweet Potato Cupcakes

Just a disclaimer… if you have a painful case of baker’s pride, you might want to walk away right now.

Baker’s pride is terribly dangerous. It drives otherwise nice people to do less than nice things.

The issue here is that these little cakems are embarrassingly effortless…which isn’t really a bad thing…at all.

I guess I just felt a smidge guilty…

See, I was going nowhere fast on a big ugly end-of-semester-paper and I needed to make goodies for a final group meeting of the year and easy was looking good.

 Skillesly chunking a few mass-produced products in a bowl was looking good. Real good.

So maybe it was circumstantial guilt?

But ohh, that nasty little monster pride, it manipulates you.

Ya’ll, its straight-up, down-right ridiculous how ashamed I was to explain to my ladies how I concocted these dump-cake-like cupcakes…so ashamed in fact, that I lied.

That’s right, I Darcy S. Lenz fibbed…about cupcakes. Upon inquiry, I told a few of these sweet girls to use an equal amount of freshly cooked sweet potatoes when I actually used commercially canned yams packed in that bizarre syrup.

Curse the baker’s pride. Curse it hard…I am no liar.

 Of all things I could fabricate about my life…and I choose sweet potatoes. Is that not the stupidest thing you’ve ever heard?

Allow me to take this opportunity to publicly apologize to those aforementioned super cool chicks whom I decieved…I don’t know what came over me.

I mean, you totally could use real potatoes, but then you’d be lacking that freaky sweet potato can-syrup for your liquid agent…which would be kind of a shame.

 The way these played out catered to my desperate love of that dessertish, side dish staple, sweet potato casserole that makes an appearance at so many a holiday dinner table.

I was hoping my craving for it might be satisfied at Thanksgiving this year… sadly, like cornbread and baked beans, the longing for that stuff shall never subside. It’s got to be a southern heritage thing.

Man, I don’t give a flying flip that it’s the portrait of unsophisticated homestyle gourmet, give me my 9×13 pan of crunchy brown sugar topped, butter and cream battered, sweet taters with  a spoon and I’ll be good. Don’t forget the gooey, perfectly-browned marshmallows please.

Well, this journey through being a sorta lazy college kid, to becoming a dirty rotten liar, to reflecting upon my deep intrinsic passion for down-home delicacies has brought me to an insightful conclusion for the day:

Cooking & eating & general fooding…it’s not about being fancy or pretentious, it’s about sharing and enjoying time and experiences with loved ones.

Cast down your accursed baker’s pride. It will serve you no good, no good atall.

One final disclaimer… despite their yumminess, when they come out the oven, these are probably the oogliest cupcakes you ever will lay eyes on. 

Coating em up with a bit of cream cheese icing helps. Or better, use marshmallow frosting…it’ll be closer to sweet potato casserole. Yesssss.

I honestly think they’re kind of charming in their uglyness…like toadstools or something.

Sweet Potato Cupcakes

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 (15 oz) can sweet potatoes, drained & liquid reserved
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 heaping tsp cinnamon

For the brown sugar topping

  • 7 tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

For the cream cheese icing

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 & 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened

Preheat oven to 350F and line two cupcake pans with 18 cupcake liners. Set aside.

Place softened butter in a medium mixing bowl. Cut in flour and brown sugar. Set aside.

In a large bowl mash the sweet potatoes with a large fork. Mix in cake mix and egg, add reserved sweet potato liquid a little bit at a time until batter is moistened. Mix in cinnamon.

Using an ice cream scoop, divide the batter between the prepared cupcake cups. Spread an even layer of the brown sugar topping over each. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool in pan for five minutes. Remove to cooling racks to cool completely.

In the meantime, in a medium mixing bowl, beat w the cream cheese with a hand mixer until soft. Beat in vanilla. Add in the powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time. Spread the frosting over cooled cupcakes.

7 thoughts on “Way Too Easy Sweet Potato Cupcakes

  1. Darcy who would have thought of putting yams into a cake mix? It actually sounds good and I’m going to have to try it. I hope my accursed bakers pride doesn’t try to steal the recipe…

      • Wow. Just…wow. Made them plain (no topping or frosting) and took them to bible study…my Dad kept interrupting to ask for the recipe (Mom was NOT amused)…
        Took the rest to the airport the next day (with topping) and have already put a link to this page on 2 different Facebook pages for ladies there. These are FANTASTIC! So moist, just so good. Where did you come across this recipe?

      • I am SO very glad you and your friends/family enjoyed them! Actually, these didn’t come from a recipe…just a result of my not having a lot of time to spend in the kitchen that day! I’d actually made a sweet potato layer cake from scratch with fresh sweet potatoes a few months back for my dad’s birthday and it was quite a hit, so I decided to try a short-cut version on some cupcakes. Again, glad you enjoyed!

  2. Pingback: Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

