Bourbon & Chocolate Walnut Pie

The countdown is on. We are but four days from Thanksgiving.

I can smell  turkey & joy.

It’s only appropriate that I give brief ode to the all-star of the Thanksgiving dessert table.

 

My oh my, do I love pie.

Pie, pie, pie. Pie is so fly.

Pie tastes so good, it makes me cry.

A man who makes pie, is my kind of guy.

My obsession for pie, I can’t deny.

I will eat pie until I die.

Hope you enjoyed that fine display of poetics.

I likewise hope you enjoy that I made a cooling rack from the microwave oven rack and canned goods. Some people might call it ghetto, I call it ingenuity.

Either way, I cannot lie…I am devoutly thankful for chocolate, bourbon, and pie.

Bourbon & Chocolate Walnut Pie

Adapted from Food & Wine

For the Crust

  • 1 & 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/4 cup ice water

For the Filling

  • 2 cups walnuts
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 tbsp bourbon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

 In a food processor, pulse the flour with the sugar and salt. Add the butter and pulse until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Transfer to a bowl and stir in the ice water. Knead the dough 2 or 3 times on a lightly floured surface and pat into a disk. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to a 12-inch round. Fit the dough into a 9-inch glass pie plate. Trim the overhang to 1/2 inch, fold the edge under itself and crimp decoratively. Refrigerate until firm.

Preheat the oven to 375°F. On a rimmed baking sheet, toast the walnuts for about 8 minutes, or until fragrant; coarsely chop. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs with the brown sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, melted butter, bourbon and salt until blended. Stir in the walnuts and chocolate chips until evenly distributed.

Pour the filling into the pie shell. Bake on the bottom shelf of the oven for about 55 minutes, or until the center of the pie is set. Tent the crust with foil halfway through the baking time if the edge is browning too quickly. Transfer the pie to a rack and let cool for at least 1 hour before serving.

One thought on “Bourbon & Chocolate Walnut Pie

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Crumble Pie with Honey Lavender Ice Cream | Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

