I have a confession…

 I know that I come off as being this uber cool person.

Don’t be fooled, I too possess a deep dark dweebish indulgence…

Hi my name is Darcy, and I am addicted to Harry Potter.

No shame. I am a patronus-popping Potter-head.

That means we have to take a brief interlude from the Thanksgiving foodforic thoughts for a snippet of Deathly Hallows  pre-gaming.

TWO DAYS PEOPLE.

And thus address the fact that I have broomsticks flying around my kitchen. Oh my!

Again, don’t allow yourselves to be fooled, they’re actually just peanut butter cookies baked on the end of a pretzel rod and painted up with some chocolate and butterscotch. Regardless, these precious little broomstick cookies are  perf for the Harry Potter party I know you’re all having before suiting up in costume and heading out to the midnight premiere of the Deathly Hallows

 These peanut butter cookies are actually pretty magical in themselves.

They require a total of four ingredients…none of which being flour. I’ve always had the urge to try them out, but have just been a little iffy.  The fact that both Paula Deen and Joy the Baker have attested to their legitimacy made me feel better though.

Totally true, totally easy, totally enchanting. Four ingredients..one bowl..mix it up..and you have everything you could ask of a peanut butter cookie.

Warm, chewy, peanut-butter yumminess.

 Melting chocolate makes anyything infinitely more magical.

I’m slapping the word “magical” on everything I do for the next 58 hours.

Maybe I’ll attempt a British accent too.

Brilliant.

 Like I said, this is but a wee taste to feed your Harry Potter feigning. Expect more extensive magical coverage later in the week. If you swear not to sneer at my nerdiness, this could even entail photo documentation of ya girl dressed as a member of the wizarding world.

Actually… it def will.

Ohhhh boy, lucky you.

I lied last post when I declared Thanksgiving as the gateway to the holiday season… November 19th is the true gateway.

Magic Broomstick Cookies

Adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar (1/2 white & 1/2 light brown)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 24 pretzel rods
  • 2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tsp butter or margarine
  • butterscotch chips, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside.  In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes.  Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes.

Place pretzel rods prepared cookie sheet. Press ball of dough onto cut end of each pretzel rod. Press dough with fork to resemble “bristles” of broom.

Bake about 12 minutes or until set but not brown. Remove from cookie sheet. Cool completely.

Cover a cookie sheet with waxed paper. Place brooms on waxed paper. Heat butter/margarine and chocolate chips over low heat, stirring occasionally, until melted and smooth; remove from heat. Spoon melted chocolate over brooms, leaving about a few inches at top of pretzel handle and bottom halves of cookie bristles uncovered.

Drizzle with melted butterscotch chips or and impress bristle texture with fork. 

Let stand until chocolate is set. To hurry the process place in the fridge.

One thought on “I have a confession…

Leave a Reply

