Cabbage & White Bean Soup

I feel like I give you alot of soup.

That might just be in my head because I make soup alot.

 Either way, everyone loves soup so I don’t see the problem with making more soup.

I’m gonna see how many times I can say soup in this post. Soup is one of those words that sounds really funny if you say it out loud a bunch of times.  Or in your head..still funny.

Try it while you boil potatoes. Soupsoupsoupsoupsoup.

As a soup-master, I would consider carrots, celery, and onions the basic trinity. They make a great flavor base for many a great soup.  Don’t leave home without them.

This is seriously  a soup kind of day. 

It’s been gloomy, rainy, cold, and generally ucky for the second day in a row. I’m wearing tennis shoes because I couldn’t stand the awkward of wearing big clonky rubber rain-boots for two days straight…I despise wearing tennis shoes.

The weather and my foot apparel compliment my state of utter despair, courtesy of my plant biology class and all things associated with it. I am being extremely kind in simply leaving it at that.

 I think I deserve an extra-large bowl of steaming brothy elixir filled with wholesome tender veggies to heal my soul.

So do you. Even if it’s sunny where you are, you’re wearing cute shoes, and having the best day of you life, soup can only add to your jovial existence.

 P.S. If the preceding statement actually describes you… do not speak to me.

Or bring me a dish of something really rich and chocolatey.

Your choice.

P.S.S. I said soup 15 times. Slightly less than expected. Oh well.

Cabbage & White Bean Soup

  • 4 cups shredded cabbage (about 1/2 a smallish head)
  • 1 (15 oz) can cannelloni beans, drained
  • 1 large celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 medium russet potatoes, cut into 1/4 inch chunks
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1-2 cups water
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • salt & pepper to taste

 In a large stockpot, heat 2 tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and minced garlic; cook until onion is transparent and fragrant, about 5 minutes. Add the carrots, celery and a few tbsp of the chicken stock until the vegetables are tender. Add the cabbage, potatoes, remaining liquid,  and seasonings.

Bring to a boil, then reduce heat. Simmer until potatoes and cabbage are tender (about 20 minutes). Stir in beans and cook for an additional 5 to 10 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Cabbage & White Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

