Whole Wheat Sweet Potato-Banana Bread

Tomorrow, I’m heading to Savannah for the weekend. I thought you might care to know.

 

Or I might possibly just want to brag about how marvelous it’s gonna be.

For one, I’m going to visit my precious homemade pumpkin pie Rachel and the boy she keeps around. They’re basically really cool people; obviously, or I wouldn’t be going to see them. Rachy and I have baking projects planned.. the likes of which could send a third-world country into obesity.

Also, Paula Deen hails from Savannah…thus, it is sacred ground.

All else aside, Savannah is just a magnificent place. It’s reaaaal old. I love old places, and old people…and old bananas.

Not to mention, can you think of a better place to celebrate Halloween than in one of the oldest established cities in America? Uh no…I bet they have actual ghosts hired to give ghost tours.

Are you green with envy yet?

Calm down, I’m just picking at ya. I’m simply letting you know  that you should  expect some delicious stuffs to feast your eyes on, upon my return. In the meantime, you should whip up a quickbread using those nappy nanners hanging out on your kitchen counter.

It’s healthy and wholesome. I took a picture of the whole-wheat flour to prove it.

 Sweet potatoes bring an abundance of joy to my life. My hypothesis is that they may likewise bring joy to bananas.

And pretty much everything else in the world.

Oh by the way, my bread has a dirty little secret. The whole wheat shot was verging on too healthy… I freaked for a sec. Before I even knew what was happening, I had mixed up cream cheese, egg, vanilla,and sugar… then  made a scandalous little cream cheese ribbon through my otherwise good-girl bread. It was a total accident. Don’t feel like you have to follow in my corruptive footsteps…of course, you’re more than welcome to.

Typically, I don’t like to direct people on how to eat their food. That’s a personal matter. But on this one, I have to make certain we don’t end up with any lost lambs out there. There is indeed a proper way to consume quickbread

Okay this first part might hurt a little. You’re gonna bake the bread, let it cool, not eat it, then stowe it away in the fridge over night. It needs to chill out and loaf around a while for all that sweet tater-nanna flavor to muster full force. Thus, I suggest baking it up in the evening. That way, you’re all ready to rock out at breakfast the following morning.

Did you catch my “loafing around” joke? It’s a loaf of bread. Funny.

Once you make it through the lonely breadless night, go cut you a nice healthy slice of that loaf. Now, this is a quintessential series of steps:

A.) Slather slice with a bit of butter B.) Microwave for roughly 10 seconds C.) Allow the warm, sweet, carby pleasure to overcome you D.) Stare dumbfounded at an empty paper towel and wonder what dirty scoundrel took all your SP&B bread E.) repeat.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato-Banana Bread

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (you could certainly replace half or all with all-purpose)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 medium sweet potato, cooked and cooled
  • 2 medium extra ripe bananas

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F ( 165 degrees C ). Grease an 9×5 inch loaf pan.

Peel the bananas and scrape the cooked/cooled sweet potato from the peel and mash them together with a fork in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and sugar. Add the eggs, oil, and milk; mix until well blended. Finally, stir in the sweet potato and banana mash. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.

Bake for 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Allow bread to cool in the pan at least 15 minutes before removing. For best flavor, store overnight before serving.

 

3 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Sweet Potato-Banana Bread

  1. 1. I love that you call me precious. I want to be precious with you; therefore,
    2. we’re carving pumpkins this weekend and using their innards in real, live, home-spankin-made pumpkin pie/cupcakes/bread/soup/seeds. Seriously.
    3. That boy I keep around doesn’t have to know. He won’t leave us any if we tell him.
    4. I want to do something really cheesy for Halloween. Maybe we can take a haunted ghost tour, or a horse-drawn carriage ride (for two). Or, we could just dress up and walk around downtown and watch the night unfold as more Halloween-themed drinks are sold and consumed and more witches, superheroes, and Snookies get arrested for public intoxication.

    • 1.) I call you precious…because you’re precious, precious
      2.) YES. I am pumped for pumpkin.
      3.) That pumped for pumpkin line was the perfect intro for our cheesetastic Halloween….all of the above please.
      4.) I am SO EXCITED

Leave a Reply

