Bacon & Blue Apple Panini

Man oh man do I lurve sandwiches. I usually call them samiches. It’s a pet name.. annnnd I might still get confused on how to spell sandwich sometimes.

I’ll slap just about anything on bread, deem it a samich, and be as happy as a hog in slop.

Is that a real expression? I don’t know if I just made it up. It shouldn’t be.. kind of gross.

 This was a legit planned samich though. It was originally inspired by a BLT, only I was gonna replace the tomato with apple and call it a BLA.

Then I realized that’d be a lie. There’s no lettuce. I like spinach. Soooo it’d have to be a BSA… and who might I ask even knows what that is? Best Samich Aver? ehhhh.

 I further realized that a typical BLT has Mayo. No thanks.

And does not contain cheese. Um sorry, wrong.

Personally, blue cheese makes my mouth water and my heart smile. Oddly enough, many people find it rather repulsive. It could be the whole moldy factor. I don’t know. I guess if it really bothers you, go ahead and use something else. You’re gonna have to change the name of your samich though, and we all see what a fiasco that can be.

 I apologize if anyone finds images of pork sizzling in its own lard offensive. Bacon just has a vicious grip on my heart. I can’t comprehend it. Love is crazy, love is blind.

 You can go with the bread of your choosing. I opted for artisan whole-wheat sourdough from our farmer’s market. Mainly because it’s awesome and subsequently makes me appear awesome for using it. Doesn’t it look happy and wholesome? This is my special bread. Special bread for a special samich for a special girl’s special belly.

Took that too far. Forget it.

My goodness you don’t realize how beautiful bacon on bread is until you take a picture of it. Bless the simple things in life. 

But wait… It get’s better..

Woaaah, just call me Houdini because bread+bacon+blue cheese= magic. 

I bet you didn’t know that’s the first thing they teach you in magician school.

 nonono wait, don’t just call me Houdini… call me panini Houdini! Haaaa that’s hilarious.

To me at least.

 Oh George Foreman, you always do me right. I’ve made many a grand samich with George. You should all get one.

Sidenote..  I don’t know if you’ve heard about advertising companies basically stalking you online after you go to websites, but it’s totally true! I went to Godiva online earlier today…and now there’s all this Godiva chocolately temptation blowing up my side panels. I didn’t even realize at first. So dangerous. They’re playing subconscious mind games with you. You could end up blowing your bank account on really expensive truffles without noticing. Beware.

 Moment of silence. Samich glory coming through.

I’m telling you, if you want to treat yourself, please make this for lunch. It won’t take 15 minutes and you have simple, straightforward bliss.

The smoky bacon, with sweet crisp apple, and strong salty cheese encased between two thick cuts of warm, toasty bread is  more than enough to brighten any cloudy afternoon. It’s possible I just enjoy samiches more than normal people, but this one honestly put me in a significantly better mood. I wanted to spread the love.

It’s not all that much like a BLT beyond the bacon and bread, but what’s that really matter once you know the basics of magic.

Bacon & Blue Apple Panini

For one sandwich

  • 2 slices thick cut bacon, cooked to your liking and thoroughly drained on paper towels
  • 1 oz crumbled blue cheese
  • 2 slices hearty bread of your choosing
  • 1/2 small gala apple, cored and thinly sliced
  • fresh spinach leaves

Once bacon is cooked and drained of excess grease, arrange the strips on one slice of bread. Top with the blue cheese crumbles. Lay apple slices and spinach leaves in an even layer over top. Close sandwich with remaining slice of bread.

Place assembled sandwich on heated sandwich press, cheese side down, and cook until bread is toasted and cheese is melty.

**If you do not have a sandwich press, you can simply cook on the stove with a skillet (grilled cheese style).

2 thoughts on “Bacon & Blue Apple Panini

  1. OMG!! That sounds absolutely scrumptious! When I come to visit, this is definitely on the list of yummies I’d like u 2 make me! I need 2start reading your posts after I’ve eaten, instead of in the morning while drinking coffee, because I’m always ravenous by the time I finish reading. And I’m looking around and there’s nothing in this kitchen that would begin to compare with this Bacon & Blue Apple Panini. Oh, I have to suffer! Luv u!

Leave a Reply

