Pear Crostata

Pie, tart, crostata, galette, whatever. I don’t much care what you call it or how you shape it, fresh fruit baked up all sweet, warm, and gooey in buttery pastry dough is nothing but good.

Scratch that. Nothing but great.

Alot of folks have a real stigma or fear or something against making their own pastry dough. I promise, It’s truly not that scary.

You are just as good as the Pillsbury dough boy. You are, honest. Potentially not as adorable though.

I can’t tell you the actual chemistry behind it, but I can tell you that the key to pastry dough is everything has to be cold. Ice cold. Water, fat, everything…cold.

I used Ina Garten’s crostata pastry recipe. I feel like you can usually trust the barefoot contessa’s expertise. She’s adorable as the Pillsbury dough boy. Ina says to break out the food processor for this, but the either pastry cutter or double butter knife method will work dandy too. Just a little more muscle action involved, but you never know how much crostata you’ll end up eating…it can’t hurt.

Regardless, you want to get your dough looking like little flour pebbles.

Geeze, I did a pretty bang up job of taking step by step pictures today.

 After you have this lovely dough disc you’re gonna let it chill out for an hour. So go mix up your filling, vacuum your filthy bedroom carpet, and Facebook stalk for a while.

 

Please don’t laugh at my wampus goompus, not circular crust. Life is challenging when you lack  a rolling-pin and expansive counter space. Someone who loves me should send me a Williams and Sonoma giftcard…just because they love me.

In case you were wondering, “wampus goompus” is a real phrase, I did not make that up. My mother called me a wampus goompus throughout my youth. Maybe she still does on occasion. I’m not completely positive as to what it means, but I like it and it seemed an appropriate adjective for my dough. Deal with it.

Pears are perdy. mmmhmmm.

Pears coated in sugar and cinnamon are even perdier.

Off-topic thought of the day: I want a puppy. I want a puppy reaaaaaaaal bad.

Yeah, I have perdy pears and pastry. Yeah, they’re pretty great. Yeah, they all start with ‘P.’ But are they a furry friend that will love me and lick my face and be my life-long companion??               No.           No, they certainly are not.

Right, so if you live in the Athens area, reside somewhere that’s pet-friendly, and wanna be a daddy (because let’s be real, I would obviously have to be the mommy)…feel free to contact me, we can make this happen. I’m thinking a Doberman, or a Great Dane…. or something tiny, fluffy, and stupid.

One more requirement: we have to name it Maggie, regardless of gender. I’ve always wanted to name a dog Maggie.

Actually, if I’m searching for a furry, face-licking, life-long companion, maybe I should just skip the puppy and find a husband.

Or forget everyone, and live in solitude with my crostata. Decisions, decisions.

Pear Crostata

For the Pastry:

adapted from Ina Garten

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick butter, very cold, diced
  • 2 tbsp ice water (I actually ended up using slightly more than 2 tbsp)

For the Filling:

  • 3 bartlett pears; peeled, cored, and cut into 1/8 inch slices
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp flour

For the pastry, place the flour, sugar, and salt in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a steel blade. Pulse a few times to combine. Add the butter and pulse 12 to 15 times, or until the butter is the size of peas. With the motor running, add the ice water all at once through the feed tube. Keep hitting the pulse button to combine, but stop the machine just before the dough becomes a solid mass. Turn the dough onto a well-floured board and form into a disk. Wrap with plastic and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Flour a rolling-pin and roll the pastry into an 11-inch circle on a lightly floured surface. Transfer it to a baking sheet.

For the filling, mix the pear slices, 1/4 cup sugar, lemon juice, flour, and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Cover the crostata dough with the prepared pear slices, leaving a 1 & 1/2 border. Gently fold the border over the pears to enclose the dough, pleating it to make a circle. Sprinkle the remaining 1 tbsp sugar over top.

Bake the crostata for 20 to 25 minutes, until the crust is golden and the pears are tender. Allow to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

2 thoughts on “Pear Crostata

  1. That’s so funny you remember “wampus goompus”; I haven’t thought of that in quite a while. It does seem like an appropriate term for slightly irregular shaped pastry. I sure wish I had some of that right now for breakfast. I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

