Fluffy Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

Does calling these cookies fluffy make them sound less appealing? I don’t want people thinking fluffy in a small, furry bunny kind of way.

Think fluffy, as in  soft, cakey, and cloud-like.

Whatever, even if “fluffy” makes some people think of fuzz instead of food, the words “pumpkin”and “cheesecake” should more than compensate.

If anyone can honestly think of a single thing that would not improve with the addition of cream cheese, please enlighten me.

I’m drawing a blank.

Ahh Pumpkin. Nothing says America like pumpkin puree from a can. So beautiful.

I feel like such a slacker; it’s over halfway through October and I’m just now getting my pumpkin game on. Pathetic.

Where the heck did October go?? I’m not mentally prepared for turkey month. My Halloween costume isn’t even finished. Somebody find the long lost October dagumit.

Have I mentioned today that I love cinnamon? Cause I do. I do I do I do I do ooooo. I sprinkle cinnamon all over my life. It”s supposed to boost your metabolism.

These right here are healthy cookies…they have a serving of vegetables, metabolism boosters, and dairy. Your girl is looking out for ya.

I love before and after shots.

When you plop your cinnamony pumpkin batter, dolloped with cream cheese filling, onto a cookie sheet you’ll likely have  this brief moment of self-doubt. You’ll wonder if this was really the right decision.. Cookie dough is not supposed to be this fluid. You ask, “Why am I listening to a girl who gave my childhood kitten’s name to a cookie??”

Have heart my friends. You shall understand after 15 to 18 minutes.

Tadah! Even better than the before and after photos for Slim Fast.

And you doubted. Ye of little faith, fill your mouth with a cloud of pumpkin-cheesecake glory and rejoice.

I don’t own real cooling racks. That’d be  a wise investment.

PS– It may sound less appealing than fuzzy cookies, but just go ahead and pack these up and share them with folks you love. You should spread the nutritional wealth. It’s the right thing to do.

Fluffy Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

makes about 2 dozen cookies

for the cookies

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1  & 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 and 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree

for the filling

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp flour

With an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add in sugar, egg, and vanilla–beat until smooth. Beat in 1 tbsp flour. Set aside. ((This makes more than necessary for the cookies, so you can either use the remainder for something else or double to cookie recipe to accommodate))

Preheat oven to 325 F and place oven rack in center.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt evenly in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until light and smooth. Beat in the oil, vanilla, and pumpkin. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in increments. Beat until just combined.

Scoop small mounds (about 2 tbsp) onto an ungreased cookie sheet, 2 inches apart. Making a slight crater as you doo so, spoon about 1/2 -1 tbsp cream cheese mixture into the center of each cookie.

Bake 15-18 minutes or until edges of cookies are rounded and golden and cream cheese center is set. Allow to cool on the pan for 2-3 minutes and remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

**If you don’t immediately devour all of the fresh cookies in one sitting, refrigerate the leftovers as they tend to get a little mudgey if left out.

3 thoughts on “Fluffy Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

  1. Pingback: Beauty & the Feast

Leave a Reply

